Lauda thinks Port Imperial GP is off for 2014


Believe who you want to believe about the status of the proposed second U.S. round of the Formula One World Championship for 2014, the Grand Prix of America at Port Imperial.

If the person you believe is Niki Lauda, then the race is off. Again.

Lauda, one of Bernie Ecclestone’s closest confidantes, told an Austrian TV station that the event organizers have run out of time to find the necessary $100 million to pay Formula One Management for the race.

“The New York Grand Prix in New Jersey that was supposed to take place this year, has not taken place because of a lack of money in America,” Lauda said. “As far as I know it has already been taken off the calendar again.”

A report from the Bergen Dispatch in New Jersey used the words “New Jersey dropped from 2014 calendar” in its headline, which isn’t yet accurate.

The official word on New Jersey’s status will come from Ecclestone and FOM before the event organizers.

Red Bull Air Race: Yoshi Muroya joins Sato as Japanese champs at Indy

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool
Leave a comment

Takuma Sato isn’t the only major Japanese athlete to take home top honors at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway this year. Countryman Yoshihide Muroya joined him in that on Sunday after winning Red Bull Air Race at IMS, and the Red Bull Air Race World Championship in the process.

Fittingly, the 101st Indianapolis 500 champion was there on site to join him in the celebration.

Muroya flew with a track-record run in the final and erased the four-point deficit to points leader Martin Sonka. The record run came after a disappointing qualifying effort of 11th in the 14-pilot field in the Master Class.

A day after the win, Muroya joined Sato in heading to Sato’s new Verizon IndyCar Series team, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s, Indianapolis-based shop.

A few social posts from Muroya’s victory and the subsequent celebration are below.



Muroya wasn’t alone among big winners at the Speedway. In the Challenger Class, Melanie Astles of France became the first woman to win a major race at IMS, and is the first female winner in the Red Bull Air Race World Championship.

Nine women have competed in the Indianapolis 500 (Janet Guthrie, Lyn St. James, Sarah Fisher, Danica Patrick, Milka Duno, Simona de Silvestro, Pippa Mann, Ana Beatriz, Katherine Legge) and Mann is the first woman to have been on the pole position at IMS, having done so for the Freedom 100 in 2010 in Indy Lights.

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool