IndyCar testing with full field Wednesday at Sonoma

Leave a comment

In preparation for Sunday’s GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma (4 p.m. EST, NBCSN), the full field of 25 IZOD IndyCar Series cars are in action Wednesday to test at Sonoma Raceway.

3:00 P.M. EST: The two-hour morning session is over. James Hinchcliffe of Andretti Autosport was first into the 1:18s as the track heats up from earlier this morning. Times are as follows:

1. James Hinchcliffe, 1:18.9329, 8 Laps
2. Will Power, 1:19.0195, 14
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay, 1:19.0765, 11
4. Sebastien Bourdais, 1:19.1274, 7
5. Dario Franchitti, 1:19.1686, 13
6. Marco Andretti, 1:19.2176, 9
7. Helio Castroneves, 1:19.2274, 12
8. Scott Dixon, 1:19.3863, 11
9. Ryan Briscoe, 1:19.3941, 9
10. Justin Wilson, 1:19.5694, 20
11. James Jakes, 1:19.6803, 6
12. E.J. Viso, 1:19.8605, 6
13. Tony Kanaan, 1:19.8766, 11
14. Josef Newgarden, 1:20.2070, 12
15. Simon Pagenaud, 1:20.2103, 21
16. Lucas Luhr, 1:20.2262, 21
17. Tristan Vautier, 1:20.2717, 12
18. JR Hildebrand, 1:20.3484, 15
19. Simona de Silvestro, 1:20.3937, 16
20. Graham Rahal, 1:20.4018, 22
21. James Davison, 1:21.4025, 12
22. Sebastian Saavedra, 1:43.6028, 1
23. Charlie Kimball, No Time
24. Takuma Sato, No Time
25. Ed Carpenter, No Time

2:00 P.M. EST: A handful of teams got action in last week for a team and manufacturer test. The only driver change since that point is in Dale Coyne’s second car, with Japanese rookie Ryo Hirakawa unable to gather a budget to make his debut, and James Davison returning for his second start in a row.

Past 2 p.m. EST and 11 a.m. PST, four drivers have set representative laps around the 1.99-mile circuit. Simon Pagenaud has the quickest time of 1:20.3785, with Graham Rahal (1:20.6134), Lucas Luhr (1:21.4394), and Davison (1:22.1487). Sebastian Saavedra has turned an installation lap.

Live timing is available throughout the day at

Red Bull Air Race: Yoshi Muroya joins Sato as Japanese champs at Indy

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool
Leave a comment

Takuma Sato isn’t the only major Japanese athlete to take home top honors at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway this year. Countryman Yoshihide Muroya joined him in that on Sunday after winning Red Bull Air Race at IMS, and the Red Bull Air Race World Championship in the process.

Fittingly, the 101st Indianapolis 500 champion was there on site to join him in the celebration.

Muroya flew with a track-record run in the final and erased the four-point deficit to points leader Martin Sonka. The record run came after a disappointing qualifying effort of 11th in the 14-pilot field in the Master Class.

A day after the win, Muroya joined Sato in heading to Sato’s new Verizon IndyCar Series team, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s, Indianapolis-based shop.

A few social posts from Muroya’s victory and the subsequent celebration are below.



Muroya wasn’t alone among big winners at the Speedway. In the Challenger Class, Melanie Astles of France became the first woman to win a major race at IMS, and is the first female winner in the Red Bull Air Race World Championship.

Nine women have competed in the Indianapolis 500 (Janet Guthrie, Lyn St. James, Sarah Fisher, Danica Patrick, Milka Duno, Simona de Silvestro, Pippa Mann, Ana Beatriz, Katherine Legge) and Mann is the first woman to have been on the pole position at IMS, having done so for the Freedom 100 in 2010 in Indy Lights.

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool