Hamilton concedes championship looks “difficult” now

Leave a comment

Lewis Hamilton admitted it will be “difficult” to win the championship this year following Sebastian Vettel’s latest win at Spa.

“There’s nothing you can do,” he told the BBC. “It’s difficult when people pull away from you and there is nothing you can do about it.”

Hamilton’s win in Hungary at the end of last month gave his championship hopes a shot in the arm. But although he took pole position in Belgium he was swiftly demoted passed by Vettel at the start and later lost second place to Fernando Alonso.

“I feel happy we’ve extended our lead [in the constructors’ championship] ahead of Ferrari, and also I’m up to third [in the drivers’], so I have come and done what I planned to do,” said Hamilton.

“But it is difficult when he is pulling away at the rate sometimes he pulls away.”

Hamilton now trails Vettel by 58 points in the drivers’ championship with 200 points available in the remaining eight races. He took his fifth pole position of the year in Spa – and his fourth in a row – but has won just once so far this year.

Spa was Vettel’s fifth win of the year, and he also retired from the lead of the British Grand Prix in July.

Kanaan, Dixon to rejoin Chip Ganassi Le Mans effort

Photo: Getty Images
Leave a comment

Both Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan will be rejoining Ford Chip Ganassi Racing as part of their four-car armada at the 2018 24 Hours of Le Mans, the team revealed late last week. Both drivers contested the event last year, with Dixon in the No. 69 entry – finishing seventh in the GTE Pro class – while Kanaan replaced an injured Sebastien Bourdais in the No. 68 – finishing sixth in GTE Pro.

For Kanaan, this also represents a return to the Chip Ganassi organization, with which he contested the Verizon IndyCar Series from 2014 to 2017 before departing for A.J. Foyt Racing in 2018.

Kanaan will join Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell in the No. 67, while Dixon will reunite with Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook, the three drivers having won the Rolex 24 at Daytona in January, in the No. 69.

Stefan Mücke, Olivier Pla, and Billy Johnson will share the No. 66 entry, with Joey Hand, Dirk Müller, and Sebastien Bourdais in the No. 68.