Dale Jr. tops Sprint Cup “Happy Hour” at Martinsville

Leave a comment

Seeking to claim his first Sprint Cup win on NASCAR’s shortest track, Dale Earnhardt Jr. led this morning’s final practice at Martinsville Speedway for Sunday’s Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500 powered by Kroger with a lap of 19.415 seconds (97.533 miles per hour).

Earnhardt qualified 12th yesterday for Sunday’s race, but may have a pace quick enough to perhaps have a say in the outcome. Earlier, in the first practice session today, he was third-fastest behind Joey Logano and Kyle Busch.

“Driver 88” is currently the “best of the rest” in the 2013 Chase for the Sprint Cup, albeit by a slim margin. He sits sixth in points (52 points behind leader Jimmie Johnson, 18 behind fifth-place Jeff Gordon), but only holds a one-point edge on seventh-place Greg Biffle and a five-point edge on eighth-place Clint Bowyer.

Bowyer was second on the “Happy Hour” time sheets behind Earnhardt, posting a lap at 97.133 mph. Kasey Kahne was third in the session (97.068 mph), followed by Kyle Busch (97.038 mph) in fourth, and Matt Kenseth (97.033 mph) in fifth.

Chase leader Jimmie Johnson, currently holding a four-point lead over Kenseth with four races remaining in the season, was sixth-fastest (97.023 mph). Pole sitter Denny Hamlin was 17th in the session (96.489 mph).

Jean Todt set for third term as FIA president to 2021

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Jean Todt is set to enjoy a third term as FIA president running to the end of 2021 after being confirmed as the sole candidate in the upcoming elections.

Former Ferrari Formula 1 chief Todt took over as FIA president in 2009 from Max Mosley, defeating Finnish rally legend Ari Vatanen in a head-to-head race.

Todt ran unopposed in 2013 after possible candidate David Ward withdrew from the race, and will do so once again this year after it was confirmed by the FIA on Wednesday there would be no competition.

The Frenchman confirmed back in May that he planned to run for a third term as FIA president, which will be confirmed at the upcoming Annual General Assembly meeting in Paris, taking place on December 8.

Todt has placed a heavy focus on global road safety throughout his tenure as FIA president, as well as helping to form the World Endurance Championship and Formula E series.

Full details on the presidential list for the election are available on the FIA website here.