NBC Sports Network to broadcast eight SPEED Energy Formula Off-Road races in 2014

2 Comments

NBC Sports Network (NBCSN) announced Thursday that it will broadcast eight of the nine SPEED Energy Formula Off-Road Presented by Traxxas races in 2014.

Races will air in primetime on the U.S. west coast due to the immense popularity of off-road racing in the Central and Pacific time zones.

The SPEED Energy Formula Off-Road Presented by Traxxas series was influenced by the former Mickey Thompson Stadium Off-Road Racing Series, where drivers such as Robby Gordon, six-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson and fellow NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Casey Mears got their racing start.

Gordon created Stadium SUPER Trucks to capitalize on the public’s overwhelming interest in trucks and SUVs as well as the fact that the majority of automotive aftermarket parts are marketed for trucks.

Formula Off-Road Presented by Traxxas begins its second season of competition on March 28-30 at the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg in conjunction with the IndyCar Series.

The trucks will race five times with IndyCar in 2014 at a number of the series’ most popular venues including St. Petersburg, Long Beach, Indianapolis, Detroit and Toronto.

Stand-alone Formula Off-Road Presented by Traxxas events will take place at Orange County’s (Calif.) Sand Sport Super Show, the Coronado Speed Festival in San Diego and along the Las Vegas Strip in November.

The Stadium Super Trucks that race in the series will hit huge man-made ramps at more than 100 mph at multiple locations throughout each of the circuits, hurling drivers nearly 20 feet in the air and 150 feet down course.

Gordon created the series to bring the excitement of Baja-style desert racing to large crowds of race fans. With a revamped and expanded schedule for 2014, the series expects to race in front of more than 750,000 fans in addition to its television audience.

The series features identically prepared trucks which are made to resemble their scaled-down Traxxas radio-control-car counterparts. Like their Traxxas namesake, the trucks are designed to take flight. However, unlike RC trucks, they produce 600 horsepower, generating speeds upwards of 130 miles per hour.

For more news of SPEED Energy Formula Off-Road Presented by Traxxas and Stadium SUPER Trucks, check out http://www.stadiumsupertrucks.com.

2014 Formula Off-Road Presented By Traxxas Broadcast Schedule

Event
Broadcast Date/Time

Grand Prix of St. Petersburg
April 17, 10 p.m. PT (April 18 1 a.m. ET) NBCSN

Long Beach Grand Prix
May 1, 10:30 p.m. PT (May 2 1:30 a.m. ET)  NBCSN

Indianapolis
June 12, 9 p.m. PT (June 13 Midnight ET) NBCSN

Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix
June 20, 10:30 p.m. PT (June 21 1:30 a.m. ET) NBCSN

X Games Austin, Texas
June 8  (Live/Time TBA) ABC/ESPN

Toronto Grand Prix
July 31, 10:30 p.m. PT (Aug. 1 1:30 a.m. ET) NBCSN

Orange County (Calif.)
Oct. 9, 10 p.m. PT (Oct. 10 1 a.m. ET) NBCSN

San Diego/Coronado Speed Festival
Oct. 10, 11 p.m. PT (Oct. 11 2 a.m. ET) NBCSN

Las Vegas
Nov. 20, 9:30 p.m. PT (Nov. 21 12:30 a.m. ET) NBCSN

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

Recapping the 2018 Dakar Rally with “best of” video highlights

Getty Images
Leave a comment

EDITOR’S NOTE: NBCSN will air additional Dakar Rally highlights on Monday at 7 p.m. ET.

As it has done so for four decades, the 40th annual Dakar Rally – the most grueling test of man and machine anywhere – produced a number of surprise finishes and also several disappointments for drivers or riders who were expected to do well in the nearly 5,600-mile trek that began in Peru and continued through Bolivia and ending in Argentina.

NBCSN has aired highlights from all 14 stages (actually 13, because one stage was completely rained out) during the Rally’s two-week run, which concluded Saturday.

Here’s some of the “best of” highlights from the overall Rally highlights, followed by a quick guide that gives you wrapups to all 14 stages.

So, without further adieu, here’s NBCSN’s “best of” the 2018 Dakar Rally:

2018 Dakar Rally: Best of cars

2018 Dakar Rally: Best of bikes

2018 Dakar Rally: Best of trucks

2018 Dakar Rally: Best of quads

Lastly, here’s a day-by-day wrapup of how the Rally played out.

MORE: Dakar Rally daily stages schedule, NBCSN broadcast schedule, list of all competitors.

MORE: Stage 14 overall Rally wrapup

MORE: Stage 13 wrapup

MORE: Stage 12 wrapup

MORE: Stage 11 wrapup

MORE: Stage 10 wrapup

MORE: Stage 9 cancelled due to weather, impassible course conditions

MORE: Stage 8 wrapup

MORE: Stage 7 wrapup

MORE: Stage 6 wrapup

MORE: Stage 5 wrapup

MORE: Stage 4 wrapup

MORE: Stage 3 wrapup

MORE: Stage 2 wrapup

MORE: Stage 1 wrapup