WATCH LIVE: FP2 for the British Grand Prix

Leave a comment

After Nico Rosberg headed up a Mercedes one-two in first practice earlier today, Lewis Hamilton will be hoping to strike back during FP2 for the British Grand Prix this afternoon.

You can watch FP2 live on NBCSN and Live Extra from 9am ET. CLICK HERE to watch via live stream.

The first session was a frustrating one for the drivers as a number of incidents interrupted their programmes. Susie Wolff’s session came to an early end due to an engine problem, whilst Williams stablemate Felipe Massa crashed his car heavily on the exit of Stowe. Williams will be pushing to fix up his FW36 in time for this afternoon’s session.

Ferrari appears to be running well, finishing third and fifth, whilst Red Bull also bounced back from its Austrian disaster by getting both cars inside the top six. Caterham had a difficult session as its drivers hit trouble, and Pastor Maldonado failed to set a time after his Lotus ground to a halt at the end of the pit lane.

FP2 will see the drivers complete their long-run race simulations, meaning that we should get some kind of idea of how the race will shape up on Sunday. It may be unsurprising to see Mercedes at the front once again, but an interesting sub-plot should unfold at Silverstone.

Be sure to watch FP2 live on NBCSN and Live Extra from 9am ET. CLICK HERE to watch via live stream.

Red Bull Air Race: Yoshi Muroya joins Sato as Japanese champs at Indy

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool
Leave a comment

Takuma Sato isn’t the only major Japanese athlete to take home top honors at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway this year. Countryman Yoshihide Muroya joined him in that on Sunday after winning Red Bull Air Race at IMS, and the Red Bull Air Race World Championship in the process.

Fittingly, the 101st Indianapolis 500 champion was there on site to join him in the celebration.

Muroya flew with a track-record run in the final and erased the four-point deficit to points leader Martin Sonka. The record run came after a disappointing qualifying effort of 11th in the 14-pilot field in the Master Class.

A day after the win, Muroya joined Sato in heading to Sato’s new Verizon IndyCar Series team, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s, Indianapolis-based shop.

A few social posts from Muroya’s victory and the subsequent celebration are below.



Muroya wasn’t alone among big winners at the Speedway. In the Challenger Class, Melanie Astles of France became the first woman to win a major race at IMS, and is the first female winner in the Red Bull Air Race World Championship.

Nine women have competed in the Indianapolis 500 (Janet Guthrie, Lyn St. James, Sarah Fisher, Danica Patrick, Milka Duno, Simona de Silvestro, Pippa Mann, Ana Beatriz, Katherine Legge) and Mann is the first woman to have been on the pole position at IMS, having done so for the Freedom 100 in 2010 in Indy Lights.

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool