Dale Earnhardt Jr. extends open invite to Daniel Ricciardo to race an Xfinity car

Leave a comment

During Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s extensive Twitter Q&A (more here from NASCAR Talk)  the other night, one fan (Kevin Walsh) asked whether Daniel Ricciardo – who of course wears the No. 3 in Formula 1 and is a devout Earnhardt fan – would ever entertain the thought of driving a NASCAR Xfinity Series car for JR Motorsports on a road course.

Earnhardt proceeded to note that anytime the Australian would want to do so, he’s got a seat waiting for him.

has an open invite to drive a car on a road course at any time,” NASCAR’s most popular driver wrote.

So, seeing that, Ricciardo jumped at the possible chance.

And now with both the 2016 Formula 1 and NASCAR Xfinity Series calendars out, it could theoretically happen.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series has three road course dates next year, all in August:

  • August 6 – Watkins Glen
  • August 13 – Mid-Ohio
  • August 27 – Road America

And, lo and behold, the Formula 1 summer break happens in August, for those first two weekends. Ricciardo would need to be back on F1 duty the Road America weekend, as that’s the weekend of the Belgian Grand Prix.

The dates are free and the offer is there. I’m sure I’m not the only one who would love to see this happen.

Kanaan, Dixon to rejoin Chip Ganassi Le Mans effort

Photo: Getty Images
Leave a comment

Both Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan will be rejoining Ford Chip Ganassi Racing as part of their four-car armada at the 2018 24 Hours of Le Mans, the team revealed late last week. Both drivers contested the event last year, with Dixon in the No. 69 entry – finishing seventh in the GTE Pro class – while Kanaan replaced an injured Sebastien Bourdais in the No. 68 – finishing sixth in GTE Pro.

For Kanaan, this also represents a return to the Chip Ganassi organization, with which he contested the Verizon IndyCar Series from 2014 to 2017 before departing for A.J. Foyt Racing in 2018.

Kanaan will join Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell in the No. 67, while Dixon will reunite with Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook, the three drivers having won the Rolex 24 at Daytona in January, in the No. 69.

Stefan Mücke, Olivier Pla, and Billy Johnson will share the No. 66 entry, with Joey Hand, Dirk Müller, and Sebastien Bourdais in the No. 68.