(Getty Images)

Chip Ganassi Racing to return to Honda IndyCar power in 2017


Chip Ganassi Racing Teams will switch to Honda power from Chevrolet in its Verizon IndyCar Series cars for 2017, the team announced Friday.

The switch is a multi-year deal, according to a media release.

In a sense, it’s a homecoming for the organization, as CGRT has earned nine of its 11 IndyCar championships and 77 of 102 overall race victories during 12 seasons of partnering together with Honda.

It also produced all three of Dario Franchitti’s Indianapolis 500 victories and Scott Dixon’s championship in 2013.

“We’ve had a long and successful relationship with Honda over the years and we look forward to getting it back on track,” Ganassi said. “I feel a little like I am going home after having previously spent 12 years with them.

“Much of our organization’s success has been with Honda power in our cars so we are all very excited.”

CGRT’s first IndyCar championship, with driver Jimmy Vasser, came with Honda Performance Development power in 1996. Honda first entered Indy car racing in 1993 and has amassed 219 race victories, 15 drivers’ championships, six competitive manufacturers’ championships and 11 Indianapolis 500 victories since 2004.

Team owner Chip Ganassi and Honda Performance Development President Art St. Cyr and CGRT Managing Director Mike Hull are expected to reveal further details of the new agreement in a media teleconference schedule for next Tuesday.

“The Honda-Ganassi association is one of the most successful in the history of Honda’s North American racing programs,” St. Cyr said in a statement. “We welcome the return of our partnership, and look forward to returning to Victory Circle together in 2017.”

In a statement supplied to NBC Sports, Jim Campbell, Chevrolet U.S. Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports thanks Ganassi for their contributions over the last three years.

“We are definitely disappointed. However, we are proud of the partnership and successes that Chevy experienced with Chip and his team, including their contributions to Chevrolet’s Manufacturer Championships over the past several years, plus eight race wins and Scott Dixon’s championship in 2015.”

Formula E: Vergne outlasts di Grassi for Punta del Este victory

Photo: Getty Images
Leave a comment

Saturday’s Punta del Este ePrix did not disappoint, with Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne and Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler’s Lucas di Grassi engaging in a thrilling battle throughout the entire race.

Vergne led the way from the pole, having been promoted up the grid after original pole sitter di Grassi was ruled to have cut a chicane during his pole lap, but di Grassi was right on the back wing of Vergne the entire way and made several attempts to get by.

The intense battle between the two, which saw them nearly lock Vergne’s rear wing with di Grassi’s front nose, stayed remarkably clean for the most part, and Vergne was able to hold off all of di Grassi’s advances, a few of which can be viewed below, to take the win.

DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird was also on the charge, the British driver coming from ninth on the grid to take third.

Full race results can be viewed here. The victory sees Vergne extend his points lead over Mahindra Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist, who finished fifth, to 30 points, with Vergne on 109 markers and Rosenqvist on 79.

Bird sits third with 76 points, respectively.