Getty Images

Alonso reaffirms commitment to McLaren in wake of Mercedes rumors

1 Comment

He shouldn’t need to, but it seems that Fernando Alonso has to keep saying “I’m all in at McLaren” in the wake of the rumors or possibility he could become available to switch to Mercedes, replacing retired World Champion Nico Rosberg.

Alonso and new McLaren Honda driver Stoffel Vandoorne have both stopped at the McLaren Technology Center today, with each driver describing their commitment to the project.

Alonso will enter his third and last year of his contract with the team this year.

“I believe in this project, I’m committed, and I want to be World Champion with McLaren Honda. That’s my only goal,” Alonso told those present at the MTC, via a McLaren tweet out today.

The two-time World Champion made a significant stride this year, with an advancement from 11 points and 17th place in the Driver’s Championship in 2015, to 54 points and 10th this year.

Red Bull Air Race: Yoshi Muroya joins Sato as Japanese champs at Indy

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool
Leave a comment

Takuma Sato isn’t the only major Japanese athlete to take home top honors at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway this year. Countryman Yoshihide Muroya joined him in that on Sunday after winning Red Bull Air Race at IMS, and the Red Bull Air Race World Championship in the process.

Fittingly, the 101st Indianapolis 500 champion was there on site to join him in the celebration.

Muroya flew with a track-record run in the final and erased the four-point deficit to points leader Martin Sonka. The record run came after a disappointing qualifying effort of 11th in the 14-pilot field in the Master Class.

A day after the win, Muroya joined Sato in heading to Sato’s new Verizon IndyCar Series team, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s, Indianapolis-based shop.

A few social posts from Muroya’s victory and the subsequent celebration are below.



Muroya wasn’t alone among big winners at the Speedway. In the Challenger Class, Melanie Astles of France became the first woman to win a major race at IMS, and is the first female winner in the Red Bull Air Race World Championship.

Nine women have competed in the Indianapolis 500 (Janet Guthrie, Lyn St. James, Sarah Fisher, Danica Patrick, Milka Duno, Simona de Silvestro, Pippa Mann, Ana Beatriz, Katherine Legge) and Mann is the first woman to have been on the pole position at IMS, having done so for the Freedom 100 in 2010 in Indy Lights.

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool