Photo: IndyCar

RC Enerson set for Rolex 24 debut with PR1/Mathiasen

Leave a comment

One of the drivers who made a big impact in a handful of Verizon IndyCar Series races last year will now make his sports car debut in the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Bobby Oergel’s PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports has added a potential star-in-waiting in RC Enerson to its lineup, as the 19-year-old Floridian will join that team alongside the capable trio of Tom Kimber-Smith, Jose Gutierrez and Mike Guasch.

PR1/Mathiasen steps up to Prototype with the No. 52 Ligier JS P217 Gibson after a successful run in Prototype Challenge for the entirety of that class’ history, from 2010 through 2016. The team won the 2015 Rolex 24 with “TKS,” Guasch, Andrew Palmer and Andrew Novich in PC.

Enerson, who was seriously considered for multiple IndyCar drives, remains focused on eventually that grid full-time. However, the chance to debut at the Rolex 24 gives him a shot to wow the sports car world, as others such as Pipo Derani or Max Papis have before.

“We’re pleased to add RC to the line-up for the Rolex 24. I was able to meet him at Sebring a few weeks ago, and I think he’s going to be a great addition to the team,” said team owner Bobby Oergel.

“I’m very excited to join PR1 for the Rolex 24. Before this opportunity, I was primarily focused on the open wheel side of racing and making my way to the IndyCar Series. I’m still working on other IndyCar prospects for the 2017 season, but wanted to find a home where I could continue to race now. My driver coach was able to put me in contact with Bobby [Oergel]. We met in Sebring a few weeks ago during a test, and we decided PR1 would be a great fit. Now we’re excited to see what we can do on the sports car side of things at Daytona,” explained Enerson.

“I’m definitely looking forward to turning my first laps in the P2 car and especially at Daytona. I mean who wouldn’t want to drive in the Rolex 24? It’s an incredible opportunity, and I’m ready to meet everyone at the Roar and see what we can do.”

This trio brings the number of drivers who competed in IndyCar in 2016 and are running at the 2017 Rolex 24 up to at least nine. Others include Graham Rahal, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Sebastien Bourdais, Jack Hawksworth, Townsend Bell and Sage Karam, with potentially more to come.

Video highlights from Stage 12 of Dakar Rally, 2 stages remain

Getty Images
Leave a comment

Thursday’s Stage 12 of the 40th Dakar Rally not only closed the overall standings gap in at least two classes (cars and trucks), two other classes (bikes and quads) failed to get going due to weather conditions.

The full video highlights of Stage 12 will air on NBCSN on Friday at 7 pm ET, but here are some of the highlights from Thursday’s action:


2018 Dakar Rally: Nasser Al-Attiyah wins Stage 12 of cars


 Stage 12 cancelled due to weather conditions



Ton van Genugten edged out Martin Kolomy in Stage of, while Federico Villagra and Eduard Nikolaev both faced an uphill battle to finish fourth and third respectively.


Even though the Quads were also impacted by weather issues on Thursday, Ignacio Casale, the 2014 Dakar winner, continues to make his case for a second overall victory in the quads.