© Getty Images

Mark Webber named grand marshal for 2017 24 Hours of Le Mans

Leave a comment

Ex-Formula 1 driver and 2015 FIA World Endurance Championship title-winner Mark Webber has been named the grand marshal for the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June.

Webber, 40, retired from racing at the end of the 2016 season after spending three years in the WEC with Porsche, claiming the drivers’ title the previous year alongside Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley.

The Australian failed to win Le Mans in any of his five attempts, but will return to the Circuit de la Sarthe in June to preside over the race as its grand marshal.

Webber sent a video message to fans tuning in to the press conference that confirmed the entry lists for both the 2017 WEC season and Le Mans.

In recent years the duty of grand marshal has been carried out by the likes of Alexander Wurz (2016), nine-time Le Mans winner Tom Kristensen (2015) and Allan McNish (2014), putting Webber in good company.

Video highlights from Stage 13 of the Dakar Rally

Dan Istitene/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Friday’s Stage 13 of the 40th Dakar Rally went from San Juan to Cordoba to set up the concluding stage of the event.

The video highlights of Stage 13 will air on NBCSN on Saturday at 6:30 pm ET, but here are some of the highlights from Friday:


Nassar Al-Attiyah strengthened his hold on second with a stage win as defending winner Stephane Peterhansel crashed in the penultimate stage.


Toby Price won his second stage of the 2018 Dakar, his ninth overall, while Matthias Walkner retained the lead ahead of the final stage.


Eduard Nikolaev continued to make a case for his second consecutive Dakar win after an epic battle to capture Stage 13.


Jeremias Gonzalez took Stage 13 of the quads, tightening his grip on third overall in the 2018 Dakar Rally.