Team Penske wraps maiden ‘Penske Games’ as title settled

Leave a comment

Team Penske’s had a good year. Josef Newgarden won the Verizon IndyCar Series championship in his first year with the outfit, while Brad Keselowski (Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series) and Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard (Virgin Australia Supercars Championship) are still in contention to win their respective titles this year.

But who was Penske’s champion of champions in the ultimate intra-team battle? That was determined today as Team Penske released its 10th and final episode of the inaugural “Penske Games,” which featured its seven full-season drivers in NASCAR and IndyCar – with cameos from McLaughlin and Coulthard of DJR Team Penske – in a series of funny, off-the-wall competitions.

A balloon toss was the 10th and final battle this season, and saw Ryan Blaney, Joey Logano and Helio Castroneves in with a realistic shot at being the 2017 “Penske Games” champion.

Who emerged on top? That’ll get revealed in the video above.

Links to the other “Penske Games” rounds are below.

9. Candy Toss
8. Draw North Carolina
7. Cup Stacking
6. Picking Up Beans with Chopsticks and Stacking Blocks
5. Hula Hoop Challenge
4. Draw a Racecar Blindfolded
3. Backwards Alphabet
2. Chubby Bunny (with Fabian Coulthard late entry here)
1. Build a Racecar

As a bonus, this wasn’t a Penske Games specific challenge but these were a funny couple videos in that vain:

What’s in the Box? NASCAR and IndyCar editions

Red Bull Air Race: Yoshi Muroya joins Sato as Japanese champs at Indy

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool
Leave a comment

Takuma Sato isn’t the only major Japanese athlete to take home top honors at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway this year. Countryman Yoshihide Muroya joined him in that on Sunday after winning Red Bull Air Race at IMS, and the Red Bull Air Race World Championship in the process.

Fittingly, the 101st Indianapolis 500 champion was there on site to join him in the celebration.

Muroya flew with a track-record run in the final and erased the four-point deficit to points leader Martin Sonka. The record run came after a disappointing qualifying effort of 11th in the 14-pilot field in the Master Class.

A day after the win, Muroya joined Sato in heading to Sato’s new Verizon IndyCar Series team, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s, Indianapolis-based shop.

A few social posts from Muroya’s victory and the subsequent celebration are below.



Muroya wasn’t alone among big winners at the Speedway. In the Challenger Class, Melanie Astles of France became the first woman to win a major race at IMS, and is the first female winner in the Red Bull Air Race World Championship.

Nine women have competed in the Indianapolis 500 (Janet Guthrie, Lyn St. James, Sarah Fisher, Danica Patrick, Milka Duno, Simona de Silvestro, Pippa Mann, Ana Beatriz, Katherine Legge) and Mann is the first woman to have been on the pole position at IMS, having done so for the Freedom 100 in 2010 in Indy Lights.

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool