Long-form: Valtteri Bottas on 2017 with Mercedes to date (VIDEO)

Leave a comment

During the Malaysian Grand Prix weekend, Valtteri Bottas of Mercedes AMG Petronas sat down with NBCSN pit reporter and insider Will Buxton for a longer-form interview on his season thus far.

Bottas has won twice, in Russia and Austria, and played perfectly alongside teammate Lewis Hamilton. Until recent car upgrades, he’s consistently matched his teammate on outright pace, but has slipped back of late.

He’s been confirmed for the 2018 season on a one-year deal and reflects on the year thus far and what’s still to come.

The interview is also part two of the Malaysian Grand Prix post-race Paddock Pass, the NBC Sports Group original digital series. He finished fifth in the race itself.

Red Bull Air Race: Yoshi Muroya joins Sato as Japanese champs at Indy

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool
Leave a comment

Takuma Sato isn’t the only major Japanese athlete to take home top honors at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway this year. Countryman Yoshihide Muroya joined him in that on Sunday after winning Red Bull Air Race at IMS, and the Red Bull Air Race World Championship in the process.

Fittingly, the 101st Indianapolis 500 champion was there on site to join him in the celebration.

Muroya flew with a track-record run in the final and erased the four-point deficit to points leader Martin Sonka. The record run came after a disappointing qualifying effort of 11th in the 14-pilot field in the Master Class.

A day after the win, Muroya joined Sato in heading to Sato’s new Verizon IndyCar Series team, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s, Indianapolis-based shop.

A few social posts from Muroya’s victory and the subsequent celebration are below.



Muroya wasn’t alone among big winners at the Speedway. In the Challenger Class, Melanie Astles of France became the first woman to win a major race at IMS, and is the first female winner in the Red Bull Air Race World Championship.

Nine women have competed in the Indianapolis 500 (Janet Guthrie, Lyn St. James, Sarah Fisher, Danica Patrick, Milka Duno, Simona de Silvestro, Pippa Mann, Ana Beatriz, Katherine Legge) and Mann is the first woman to have been on the pole position at IMS, having done so for the Freedom 100 in 2010 in Indy Lights.

Photo: Joerg Mitter/Red Bull Content Pool