Dan Istitene/Getty Images

Carlos Sainz seizes Dakar Rally lead as teammate Stephane Peterhansel crashes in Stage 7

Leave a comment

Carlos Sainz moved into the overall lead of the Dakar Rally, wining his second consecutive stage Saturday and taking advantage of Peugeot teammate Stephane Peterhansel’s crash.

Peterhansel started the seventh stage with a 27-minute lead on Sainz before crashing about a third of the way through the 425-kilometer leg. After losing more than two hours to repairs, Peterhansel finished 20th in the stage. The defending champion fell to third overall, an hour and 20 minutes behind Sainz.

Giniel de Villiers, the 2009 champion, finished second in the stage (12 minutes behind Sainz) and is fourth overall. Two-time champion Nasser Al-Attiyah is second overall, an hour and 11 minutes behind Sainz, after a third-place finish in the seventh stage.

Though Sainz is leading at the halfway point of the 14-stage rally, the Spaniard has failed to finish the Dakar Rally the past five years because of crashes and mechanical problems.

In other divisions:

–In motorcycles, Joan Barreda Bort dominated on his Honda but said he might have broken his knee in winning the stage by nearly 3 minutes.

–In quads, Axel Dutrie won by nearly 5 minutes over Marcelo Medeiros.

–In trucks, Ton Van Genugten triumphed by 2 minutes over Federico Villagra.

–Reinaldo Verala won in SxS.

MORE: Dakar Rally daily stages schedule, NBCSN broadcast schedule, list of all competitors.

MORE: Stage 6 wrapup

MORE: Stage 5 wrapup

MORE: Stage 4 wrapup

MORE: Stage 3 wrapup

MORE: Stage 2 wrapup

MORE: Stage 1 wrapup



  1. Spain’s Carlos Sainz, Peugeot, 04:49:26
  2. South Africa’s Giniel de Villiers, Toyota, 5:01:31
  3. Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah, Toyota, 5:03:45
  4. Poland’s Jakub Przygonski, Orlen, 5:10:22
  5. Czech Republic’s Martin Prokop, MP-Sports, 5:13:23


  1. Spain’s Carlos Sainz
  2. Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah, 1:11:29 behind
  3. France’s Stephane Peterhansel, 1:20:46
  4. South Africa’s Giniel de Villiers – 1:20:54
  5. The Netherlands’ Bernhard ten Brinke – 1:25:04



  1. Spain’s Joan Barreda Bort, Honda, 5:11:10
  2. France’s Adrien van Beveren, Yamaha, 5:14:01
  3. Argentina’s Kevin Benavides, Honda, 5:19:12
  4. Australia’s Toby Price, KTM, 5:19:53
  5. Chile’s Pablo Quintanilla, Husqvarna, 5:20:03


10th: Ricky Brabec (Honda), 5:24:58

25th: Mark Samuels (Honda), 6:00:40

28th: Andrew Short (Husqvarna), 6:05:35

30th: Shane Esposito (KTM), 6:18:10

89th: Bill Conger (Husqvarna), 9:22:52


  1. France’s Adrien van Beveren
  2. Argentina’s Kevin Benevides – 3:14 behind
  3. Spain’s Joan Barreda Bort – 04:45
  4. Austria’s Matthias Walkner – 8:18
  5. Australia’s Toby Price – 13:34



  1. The Netherlands’ Ton van Genugten, Iveco, 4:10:40
  2. Argentina’s Federico Villagra, Iveco, 4:12:41
  3. Russia’s Eduard Nikolaev, 4:15:34
  4. Czech Republic’s Martin Kolomy, Tatra, 4:16:29
  5. Czech Republic’s Martin Macik, Liaz, 4:16:51


  1. Russia’s Eduard Nikolaev
  2. Argentina’s Federico Villagra – 49:47 behind
  3. Belarus’s Siarhei Vlazovich – 2:49:08
  4. Czech Republic’s Martin Macik – 3:15:35
  5. The Netherlands’ Ton van Genugten – 4:24:05



  1. France’s Axel Dutrie, 6:59:04
  2. Brazil’s Marcelo Medeiros, 7:03:54
  3. Chile’s Ignacia Casale, 7:08:02
  4. Paraguay’s Nelson Augusto Sanabria Galeano, 7:10:37
  5. Argentina’s Giuliano Horacio Giordana, 7:18:42


  1. Chile’s Ignacio Casale
  2. Peru’s Alexis Hernandez – 1:01:09 behind
  3. Argentina’s Jeremias Gonzalez Ferioli – 1:28:13
  4. Argentina’s Nicolas Cavigliasso – 1:31:20
  5. France’s Alex Dutrie – 2:51:07



  1. Brazil’s Reinaldo Varela, Can-Am, 6:49:31
  2. France’s Patricie Garroueste, Polaris, 7:21:03
  3. Peru’s Juan Carlos Uribe Ramos, Can-Am, 7:45
  4. Peru’s Anibal Aliaga, Polaris, 9:07:59
  5. Spain’s Jose Luis Pena Campos, Polaris, 9:10:06


  1. Brazil’s Reinaldo Varela
  2. Peru’s Juan Uribe Ramos – 1:15:36 behind
  3. France’s Patricie Garroueste – 1:43:45
  4. Peru’s Anibal Aliaga, 5:38:37
  5. Spain’s Jose Luis Pena Campos, 6:15:21


STAGE 8: A 585-kilometer leg from Uyuni to Tupiza.


Formula E: Vergne outlasts di Grassi for Punta del Este victory

Photo: Getty Images
Leave a comment

Saturday’s Punta del Este ePrix did not disappoint, with Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne and Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler’s Lucas di Grassi engaging in a thrilling battle throughout the entire race.

Vergne led the way from the pole, having been promoted up the grid after original pole sitter di Grassi was ruled to have cut a chicane during his pole lap, but di Grassi was right on the back wing of Vergne the entire way and made several attempts to get by.

The intense battle between the two, which saw them nearly lock Vergne’s rear wing with di Grassi’s front nose, stayed remarkably clean for the most part, and Vergne was able to hold off all of di Grassi’s advances, a few of which can be viewed below, to take the win.

DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird was also on the charge, the British driver coming from ninth on the grid to take third.

Full race results can be viewed here. The victory sees Vergne extend his points lead over Mahindra Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist, who finished fifth, to 30 points, with Vergne on 109 markers and Rosenqvist on 79.

Bird sits third with 76 points, respectively.