nbc sports group

Red Bull Air Race comes to NBC Sports Group in 2017

Leave a comment

The Red Bull Air Race World Championship comes to the NBC Sports Group starting this weekend in Abu Dhabi. (Watch Saturday at 4:30 pm ET on NBC)

A release with further details and air times is below:

NBC Sports Group and the Red Bull Air Race World Championship have signed an exclusive multi-year U.S. media rights agreement beginning with the 2017 season, both parties announced today.

Ten years since it was officially launched, the Red Bull Air Race World Championship has become globally-renowned as the new dimension of motorsport. Using the fastest, most agile, lightweight racing planes, the best race pilots in the world hit speeds of 230 mph while enduring forces of up to 10G as they navigate a low-level slalom track marked by 25-meter-high, air-filled pylons.

The international competition spans eight races in seven different countries, including a pair of stops in the United States. The first is on April 16 in San Diego, followed by the season finale at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on October 15, giving race pilots Kirby Chambliss and Mike Goulian two opportunities to shine in their home nation.

NBC, NBCSN, NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app will combine to present coverage of all eight events during the 2017 Red Bull Air Race season, beginning with this year’s event in Abu Dhabi on February 10 and airs at 4:30 pm on Feb. 18 on NBC.

NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app — NBC Sports Group’s live streaming platforms for desktops, mobile devices, tablets, and connected TVs — will provide extensive live streaming coverage 2017 Red Bull Air Race World Championship, including exclusive live race and qualifying coverage.

“We’re excited to bring the fastest racing series in motorsports to viewers on NBC and NBCSN,” said Jon Miller, President, Programming, NBC Sports and NBCSN. “Red Bull Air Race combines the elements of extreme skill, speed, and excitement, in a way that few international events are able to accomplish.”

“We are thrilled to be partnering with NBC Sports to bring the Red Bull Air Race World Championship to audiences in the U.S. This is our tenth season and with a race in San Diego and the season finale in Indianapolis, 2017 is set to be the most exciting year of racing yet,” commented Erich Wolf, General Manager of Red Bull Air Race GmbH.

Following is NBC Sports Group’s telecast and streaming schedule for the 2017 Red Bull Air Race World Championship Season:

Date Location Network** Time (ET)
Fri., February 10 Abu Dhabi – Qualifying Streaming 7 a.m.
Sat., February 11 Abu Dhabi – Race* NBCSN 9:30 p.m.
Sat., February 18 Abu Dhabi – Race* NBC 4:30 p.m.
Sat., April 15 San Diego – Qualifying Streaming 7 p.m.
Sun., April 16 San Diego – Race NBCSN 12:30 a.m.
Sat., June 3 Japan – Race NBCSN 2 a.m.
Sat., July 1 Hungary – Qualifying Streaming 10 a.m.
Sun., July 2 Hungary – Race* NBCSN Noon
Sat., July 22 Russia – Qualifying Streaming 9 a.m.
Sun., July 23 Russia – Race* NBCSN 11 p.m.
Sat., August 12 Europe 1 TBA – Qualifying Streaming 11 a.m.
Sun., August 13 Europe 1, TBA – Race* NBCSN 10:30 p.m.
Sat., September 2 Europe 2, TBA – Qualifying Streaming 11 a.m.
Mon., September 4 Europe 2, TBA – Race* NBCSN 7 p.m.
Sun., September 10 Europe 2, TBA – Race* NBC 3 p.m.
Sat., October 14 Indianapolis – Qualifying Streaming 4 p.m.
Sun., October 15 Indianapolis – Race NBCSN 2 p.m.
Mon., October 16 Indianapolis – Race* NBCSN 1:30 p.m.

*denotes same-day delay/encore presentation
**all races streamed on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app