UPDATE: Power completes Barber test sweep


The day is new at Barber Motorsports Park, but the driver atop the IndyCar timing sheets on day two of testing isn’t. Will Power led the morning session for Team Penske, now down to a 1:07.4981. It was four tenths quicker than his fastest lap on Tuesday.

Chevrolet entrants swept the top five, with Tony Kanaan, James Hinchcliffe, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Simona de Silvestro next up. Scott Dixon was the top Honda runner in sixth.

Ana Beatriz, rather than Stefan Wilson as had been anticipated, was still behind the wheel of Dale Coyne’s second car. James Jakes took over from Mike Conway in RLL Racing’s second car, and clocked in 21st of 26 drivers to take time.

This post will be updated after the conclusion of the afternoon session.

UPDATE: 8:30 p.m. EST:  The final session of IndyCar’s two-day test at Barber confirmed two things: another new unofficial track record, and Will Power’s permanent presence atop the leaderboard.

The Australian led all four sessions, two apiece on Tuesday and Wednesday, and got down to a best time of 1:07.1329 in the last session.

“A good start for the spring training,” said Power. “I think we got some good stuff to come back here for the race. It’s just phenomenal how tight it is up front all the way through the field, and also just how fast these cars are around here, it’s just unbelievable.”

As was the case in the other sessions, Chevrolet teams nearly locked out the top five positions. James Hinchcliffe ended the final session second with Tony Kanaan fourth and Ryan Hunter-Reay fifth. The latter two posted their best times in the Wednesday morning session.

Justin Wilson interrupted the Chevrolet sweep, as top Honda on the day in P3 at 1:07.4996 for Dale Coyne Racing. Overall, the top 16 times were all within one second of Power’s best at Barber.

James Jakes had his first run for RLL and wound up a respectable eleventh overall. Also at Coyne, Wilson’s younger brother Stefan Wilson made his IndyCar testing debut. His best time was 1:09.9513, and he only turned 42 laps before encountering some gearbox gremlins early in the day. All told, it was a promising debut.

See also: Power leads both Tuesday Barber test sessions

Formula E announces Portland, Oregon as US race in 2023

Formula E Portland 2023
Andrew Ferraro / LAT Images

The American date for the 2023 Formula E schedule will move from Brooklyn, New York to Portland, Oregon on June 24, 2023, filling the calendar at 16 rounds. This will be the first time in the nine-year history of the series that they have raced on the West Coast in only the third different city in the United States. Miami hosted one Formula E race in 2015. The series has visited the United States every season except 2020 due to the COVID-1+9 pandemic.

The 2023 race will be Round 12.

“We are excited to bring the premier electric motorsport world championship to Portland for the first time in June next year,” said Alberto Longo, Co-Founder & Chief Championship Officer, Formula E in a press release. “There is a big, passionate fanbase for professional sports in the city, together with strong ecological credentials which makes Portland a perfect host for the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.

“The USA remains an important market for Formula E. We are delighted to maintain that critical presence and engage a new audience in the Pacific Northwest region in all-electric motorsport.”

MORE: McLaren Racing’s Ian James organization’s entry into Formula E

Last year’s American round in Brooklyn was made up of two races with Nick Cassidy from Envision Racing winning Race 1 and António da Costa from DS Techeetah taking the second race.

Portland will host only one Formula E race in 2023.

The 2023 season will be highlighted by the new Gen 3 car, which features a battery capable of generating 350 kilowatts with regeneration capability from both the front and rear axles. This contributes to a top speed of 200 miles per hour (m.p.h.), an increase of about 25 m.p.h. from last year.

The 2023 season also marks the entry of two new iconic teams, Maserati and McLaren, who completed their roster of drivers in late November with the addition of Jake Hughes.

Season 9 Calendar

Round 1:  January 3, Mexico City, Mexico
Rounds 2 & 3: January 27-28, Diriyah, Saudi Arabia
Round 4: February 11, Hyderabad, India*
Round 5: February 6, Cape Town, South Africa*
Round 6: March 8, São Paulo, Brazil*
Rounds 7 & 8: April 22-23, Berlin, Germany
Round 9: May 6, Monaco
Rounds 10 & 11: June 3-4, Jakarta, Indonesia
Round 12: June 24, Portland, Oregon*
Rounds 13 & 14: July 15-16, Rome, Italy
Rounds 15 & 16: July 29-30, London

*subject to final FIA Safety and Technical checks,