Scott Dixon staying at Ganassi until 2015


Indianapolis 500 winner and two-time IZOD IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon has signed an extension to stay at Target Chip Ganassi Racing through the 2015 campaign.

However, Dixon, who has ran with TCGR since 2002, told the Indianapolis Star’s Curt Cavin that as long as he is able to battle for wins, he plans on pushing his career farther than that point.

“I would like to do another two or three contracts,” he said to Cavin. “The next contract could be a year, I don’t know. I’d like to race for a lot longer, but I’ll only race as long as I’m competitive. I’m not going to race for just filling the field.”

Dixon finished third in the championship last season with victories at Detroit’s Belle Isle Park and at Mid-Ohio that added to the legacy he’s created as part of the Ganassi camp. In a TCGR tenure that has stretched over 181 starts in both CART/Champ Car and the IZOD IndyCar Series, he has collected 20 poles, 28 wins and 69 podium finishes.

His best season (so far) with Ganassi came in 2008, when he rattled off six victories (including his Indy 500 triumph), seven poles and 12 podiums en route to a 17-point victory in the series championship over Helio Castroneves.