Detroit flashback: In 1999, driver changes were everywhere


Ryan Briscoe (No. 4 Panther Racing) and Mike Conway (No. 18 Dale Coyne Racing) are last-minute replacements for this weekend’s  IZOD IndyCar Series Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit.

It brings back memories of another year in Detroit, when the CART field had a night-and-day difference between its previous race at the Michigan International Speedway and its race in Detroit, some 75 miles east two weeks later.

In 1999, some six cars changed driver lineups from the 500-mile race at Brooklyn, Mich. to the street race at The Raceway on Belle Isle. The changes are below, which occurred after a mix of injuries and/or driver replacements:

No. 3 Team Penske: Michigan, Alex Barron. Detroit, Gonzalo Rodriguez.
No. 11 Newman/Haas Racing: Michigan, Christian Fittipaldi. Detroit, Roberto Moreno.
No. 15 Walker Racing: Michigan, vacant. Detroit: Naoki Hattori.
No. 18 PacWest Racing: Michigan, Roberto Moreno. Detroit, Mark Blundell.
No. 20 Patrick Racing: Michigan, P.J. Jones. Detroit, Jan Magnussen.
No. 34/71 Dale Coyne Racing: Michigan, Dennis Vitolo (No. 34), Detroit, Memo Gidley (No. 71).

Juan Pablo Montoya’s pole-winning lap is below. Dario Franchitti won the race, with a link to the full race on YouTube here.

Supercross: Talon Hawkins to debut in Houston in relief of Jalek Swoll

Hawkins Supercross
Husqvarnamotorcyclesusa Instagram

Talon Hawkins, 19, will make his Monster Energy Supercross debut on a 250 this week in Houston, Texas as a fill-in rider for Jalek Swoll.

During the Anaheim 2 weekend, the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna team announced Swoll underwent successful surgery to repair a broken arm suffered in a practice crash.

That same weekend, Hawkins made some noise. He took the lead from teammate Casey Cohran on Lap 2 of the 250 SX Futures Main and led for three laps before he was overtaken by eventual winner Daxton Bennick. Cochran also got around him to push Hawkins to third.

This will not be Hawkins SuperMotocross professional debut, however; he made three Lucas Oil Pro Motocross starts last year with results of 19th at Spring Creek in Millville, Minnesota, 27th at Ironman in Crawfordsville, Indiana and a best finish of 17th in the season finale at Fox Raceway in Pala, California.

Hawkins also has a top-10 finish in the 125 All-Star division at Pala in 2019 riding a Husqvarna.

Speaking with before the Loretta Lynn Amateur Nationals, Hawkins predicted his future with Husqvarna would come down to how he performed in that race.

“It all just comes down to how I perform at Loretta’s,” Hawkins said. “Say I do really well, I get a top three in both classes and do a pretty solid job, I would like to go pro and just kind of finish out the rest of the series. But there’s also the option of waiting a little bit longer, going back out to [Aldon] Baker’s [Factory] or going anywhere and training, and just being prepared. I’m also open to that too. Honestly, it’s whatever the team wants. Whatever we think is the best option is what we’re going to go with. So, I don’t really have a plan right now, just looking into the future.”

Hawkins finished third overall in the 125 B/C and Schoolboy divisions at the Loretta Lynn Amateur Nationals.