Provisional grid for the Canadian Grand Prix

Leave a comment

Qualifying in Canada was a wet and murky affair, with the entire hour-long session being completed on intermediate tires. However, this played into the hands of Sebastian Vettel, Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas as they finished in the top three, but a dry race is in store today so long as the blue skies currently gracing Montreal remain.

There are three changes to the qualifying result due to steward penalties:

Raikkonen and Ricciardo only lose one place on the grid as their penalties were awarded consecutively. As Raikkonen was the first to breach the rules, he was relegated from 9th to 11th, bumping Ricciardo up to 9th. Ricciardo’s penalty then drops him two places to 11th, with Nico Hulkenberg starting 8th for Sauber.

Canadian Grand Prix – Grid

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams
4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
5 Mark Webber Red Bull
6 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
7 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
8 Adrian Sutil Force India
9 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber
10 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
11 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
12 Sergio Perez McLaren
13 Pastor Maldonado Williams
14 Jenson Button McLaren
15 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber
16 Felipe Massa Ferrari
17 Paul di Resta Force India
18 Charles Pic Caterham
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia
20 Max Chilton Marussia
21 Giedo van der Garde Caterham
22 Romain Grosjean Lotus

MotoGP champion Marc Marquez has second surgery on fractured arm

MotoGP Marc Marquez second surgery
Leave a comment

Defending MotoGP series champion Marc Marquez underwent a second surgery Monday after a titanium plate inserted in his fractured right arm sustained damage. The Repsol Honda Team said in a statement that it’ll be two days before the recovery period is determined.

Marquez was injured during a crash in the July 19 season opener. He underwent an initial surgery July 21 in Barcelona, and doctors said there was no nerve damage.

The eight-time champion was cleared to race in the season’s second event Jerez. But Marquez decided to skip the July 26 race after experiencing discomfort while riding the No. 93 bike in a July 25 practice.

MOTOGP ON NBCHow to watch the 2020 season

He had planned to race in Sunday’s grand prix at the Automotodrom Brno in the Czech Republic in hopes of returning to defend his title. His status for Sunday apparently will be unclear until at least Wednesday.

In a statement Monday, the team said the titanium plate in Marquez’s right arm successfully was replaced after stress accumulation. Marquez will stay in the hospital for two days recovering.

Dr Xavier Mir, who performed the surgery at the Hospital Universitari Dexeus, said in the release that “Marc Marquez underwent surgery 13 days ago and today he returned to the operating room. The first operation was successful, what was not expected was that the plate was insufficient. An accumulation of stress in the operated area has caused the plate to suffer some damage, so today the titanium plate has been removed and replaced by a new fixation.

“The rider has not felt pain during this period. He has always followed the medical advice given and the feeling from his body. Unfortunately, an overstress has caused this issue. Now we have to wait 48 hours to understand the recovery time.”