Road to Indy: Matthew Brabham clinches Pro Mazda title

Leave a comment

In Mazda Road to Indy news this weekend, 19-year-old Matthew Brabham of Andretti Autosport has clinched the 2013 Pro Mazda Championship after pulling off back-to-back wins at the Grand Prix of Trois-Rivieres in Quebec.

On Saturday, Brabham led all 40 laps en route to his 10th victory of the year, which was good enough to set a new single-season record in Pro Mazda. Then, earlier today, he followed that up with win No. 11, this time by a margin of more than five seconds.

The GP3R sweep has enabled Brabham to clinch the Pro Mazda title with two races left in the campaign (Oct. 5 and 6 at Houston’s Reliant Park, as part of the Shell/Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston weekend).

“What an awesome year – I could not have predicted a season like this,” said Brabham in a team statement. “I’m so happy for the team and all my supporters…Everyone has worked so hard and it has been perfect.

“I really have to thank Andretti Autosport and also Mazda for the wonderful year. I’m really happy and I’m enjoying the moment.”

The only Pro Mazda weekend this year that hasn’t seen Brabham ascend to the top of the podium was the July 20-21 run at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, which had Spencer Pigot and Shelby Blackstock (Brabham’s teammate) each taking their first series victories.

In a sign of how dominant Brabham has been this year in Pro Mazda, that weekend at CTMP snapped what had been a seven-race win streak for him.

NBCSN will present ‘Race and Sports in America: Conversations’ Monday

Leave a comment

With motor racing reckoning with its own issues of diversity and equality, “Race and Sports in America: Conversations” will tackle the topics of social justice with several athletes. The show will air at 8 p.m. ET Monday, July 13 on NBCSN, Golf Channel, Olympic channel and on regional sports networks.

The roundtable discussions will be hosted by Damon Hack and feature Charles Barkley, Steph Curry, Jimmy Rollins and Ozzie Smith in one segment. The other segment will include Kyle Rudolph, Anthony Lynn, Troy Mullins and James Blake.

Race has been a major topic in motorsports this year.

NASCAR banned the Confederate flag at its race after lobbying by Bubba Wallace, the only Black driver in the premier Cup Series. In Formula One, six-time series champion Lewis Hamilton has joined Black Lives Matter marches in London and also formed a panel on diversity. The lone Black driver in F1 also led 14 of 20 drivers taking a knee before the season opener in Austria.