Race to Chase update: Keselowski leads Glen movers and shakers


Sunday’s Cheez-It 355 at Watkins Glen was the 22nd of 26 regular season races before NASCAR’s Chase for the Sprint Cup. Kyle Busch held off Brad Keselowski, who came up just short at Watkins Glen again, to score his third victory of the season. Keselowski desperately needed his first win of the year but with others around him in points having issues, he jumped from 12th place to eighth in the standings.

Keselowski and Kasey Kahne swapped spots, the Pocono winner falling to 12th but still the first Wild Card driver a 34th place finish at the Glen. Martin Truex Jr. also gained four spots to move into 10th, while Jeff Gordon’s crash cost him four spots. Tony Stewart, like Denny Hamlin, will now miss the Chase in 2013 after his injuries. Fortunately, he’s out of the hospital and recovering.

Here’s where things sit as of now:

1. Jimmie Johnson, 808 points, 4 wins
2. Clint Bowyer, 733, 0
3. Carl Edwards, 728, 1
4. Kevin Harvick, 707, 2
5. Kyle Busch, 693, 3
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 670, 0
7. Matt Kenseth, 659, 4
8. Brad Keselowski, 634, 0
9. Greg Biffle, 627, 1
10. Martin Truex Jr., 625, 1
11. Kurt Busch, -2 behind Truex, 0 wins
12. Kasey Kahne, -3, 2
13. Jeff Gordon, -15, 0
14. Ryan Newman, -20, 1
15. Jamie McMurray, -25, 0
16. Joey Logano, -27, 0
17. Tony Stewart, -31, 1
18. Aric Almirola, -64, 0
19. Paul Menard, -66, 0
20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., -94, 0

We’ll feel comfortable saying that six of the 12 Chasers seem pretty definitive at this point with four races to go. One already is, as Jimmie Johnson clinched his berth Sunday.

LOCKED IN: Johnson
VIRTUAL LOCKS: Bowyer, Edwards, Harvick, Kyle Busch, Kenseth
ALMOST LOCKS: Earnhardt Jr., Kahne
GOOD FOR NOW: Keselowski, Biffle, Truex, Newman

IN RANGE: Kurt Busch, Gordon, McMurray
VIRTUALLY ELIMINATED: Stewart, Almirola, Menard, Stenhouse Jr.


Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series triples to 34 races in 2023

Xtreme Outlaw Midget 2023
Xtreme Outlaw Series

After hosting 10 rounds in 2022, the Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series 2023 schedule will more than triple to 34 races. The 2022 season featured seven different winners in the first seven races, a female racer in Jade Avedisian as the only repeat winner and Zach Daum as the champion.

“Dirt Midget racing is a growing entity in American motorsports, and the Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series presented by Toyota is proud to drive further into the growth of the division with both a diverse and lucrative schedule for 2023,” newly appointed Series Director Tyler Bachman said in a press release. “From the kickoff at our first indoor event, to each of the new tracks we’re set to visit next year, it’s a lineup we know both our teams and fans will enjoy.”

The championship purse fund has also more than double with an increase of $42,000 to $80,000 in 2023. The champion will win $25,000. Last year, Daum pocketed $10,000.

In addition, the series will offer tow money to the top 12 in points. Six drivers attempted to qualify for all 10 races in 2022 with 89 drivers attending.

The series will begin on March 10 at Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin, Ill. and end the same place it did in 2022 at I-44 Riverside Speedway in Oklahoma City on October 15.

During the season, they will visit 21 tracks in 10 states.

Some highlights of the season include the Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series pairing up with the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars in 2023 at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo. in April for the Outlaw Showdown and again in August for the Ironman 55 weekend, as well as the creation of a five-day Midget Speedweek.

The Midget Speedweek will immediately follow the Ironman 55 with a swing through Pennsylvania and New York.

Xtreme Outlaw Midget 2023 Schedule

Friday, March 10 | Southern Illinois Center | Du Quoin, Ill.
Saturday, March 11 | Southern Illinois Center | Du Quoin, Ill.
Friday, March 31 | Farmer City Raceway | Farmer City, Ill.

Saturday, April 1 | Farmer City Raceway | Farmer City, Ill.
Friday, April 14 | Federated AP Raceway at I-55 | Pevely, Mo.
Saturday, April 15 | Federated AP Raceway at I-55 | Pevely, Mo.

Friday, May 5 | Humboldt Speedway | Humboldt, Kan.
Saturday, May 6 | 81 Speedway | Park City, Kan.
Tuesday, May 23 | Millbridge Speedway | Salisbury, N.C.
Wednesday, May 24 | Millbridge Speedway | Salisbury, N.C.

Thursday, June 1 | Tri-City Speedway | Pontoon Beach, Ill.
Friday, June 2 | Wayne County Speedway | Wayne City, Ill.
Saturday, June 3 | Wayne County Speedway | Wayne City, Ill.

Friday, July 21 | TBA
Saturday, July 22 | Southern Illinois Raceway | Marion, Ill.
Friday, July 28 | TBA
Saturday, July 29 | Atomic Speedway | Chillicothe, Ohio
Sunday, July 30 | Brushcreek Motorsports Complex | Peebles, Ohio

Friday, August 4 | Federated AP Raceway at I-55 | Pevely, Mo.
Sat, August 5 | Federated AP Raceway at I-55 | Pevely, Mo.
Tuesday, August 8 | Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway | Newmanstown, Pa.
Wednesday, August 9 | Action Track USA | Kutztown, Pa.
Thursday, August 10 | Linda’s Speedway | Jonestown, Pa.
Friday, August 11 | TBA
Saturday, August 12 | Bridgeport Motorsports Park | Swedesboro, N.J.
Friday, August 25 | Davenport Speedway | Davenport, Iowa
Saturday, August 26 | Davenport Speedway | Davenport, Iowa

Friday, September 1 | Paragon Speedway | Paragon, Ind.
Saturday, September 2 | Paragon Speedway | Paragon, Ind.
Friday, September 15 | Jacksonville Speedway | Jacksonville, Ill.
Saturday, September 16 | Red Hill Raceway | Sumner, Ill.

Friday, October 13 | Port City Raceway | Tulsa, Okla.
Saturday, October 14 | I-44 Riverside Speedway | Oklahoma City, Okla.
Sunday, October 15 | I-44 Riverside Speedway | Oklahoma City, Okla.

* Co-sanctioned with POWRi