Where do Chase hopefuls stand for today’s race at Michigan?

Leave a comment

Three “regular season” events will be left following today’s Pure Michigan 400 at Michigan International Speedway, which could deliver another major shake-up for those trying to race their way into the Chase for the Sprint Cup.

Last week’s race at Watkins Glen proved to be fruitful for Brad Keselowski and Martin Truex, both of whom made moves into the Top 10, while Jeff Gordon’s Chase hopes suffered a critical blow with an early crash. But there’s still some time left to make a comeback.

Here’s where the Chase hopefuls stand as we prepare for an afternoon in the Irish Hills:

8th place: Brad Keselowski (pictured – no wins, +9 points ahead of 10th)
Last five results at Michigan: 25th, 3rd, 13th, 2nd, 12th.
Reigning Cup champ and Michigan native looking for critical win on home ground.

9th place: Greg Biffle (one win, +2 points ahead of 10th)
Last five results at Michigan: 15th, 20th, 4th, 1st, 1st.
A third consecutive win at MIS today could put him into the postseason.

10th place: Martin Truex, Jr. (one win)
Last five results at Michigan: 26th, 19th, 12th, 10th, 3rd.
Also finished runner-up in both 2007 Michigan races.

11th place: Kurt Busch (no wins, -2 points out of 10th)
Last five results at Michigan: 11th, 34th, 30th, 30th, 35th.
After several “misses” at this track, Busch really needs a “hit” today.

12th place: Kasey Kahne (Wild Card; two wins, -3 points out of 10th)
Last five results at Michigan: 28th, 7th, 33rd, 5th, 38th.
Was strong at MIS in June before mid-race tire failure put him in wall while leading.

13th place: Jeff Gordon (no wins, -15 points out of 10th)
Last five results at Michigan: 17th, 6th, 6th, 28th, 39th.
Two most recent runs here have ended prematurely with engine issues and crash, respectively.

14th place: Ryan Newman (Wild Card; one win, -20 points out of 10th)
Last five results at Michigan: 6th, 5th, 15th, 8th, 18th.
Has not won at Michigan since consecutive triumphs in Aug. 2003, June 2004.

15th place: Jamie McMurray (no wins, -25 points out of 10th)
Last five results at Michigan: 19th, 23rd, 14th, 14th, 33rd.
MIS not one of his traditionally stronger tracks, with one Top-5 in 21 Cup starts.

16th place: Joey Logano (no wins, -27 points out of 10th)
Last five results at Michigan: 18th, 21st, 35th, 31st, 9th.
Today’s pole sitter needs to go for broke to have any shot at a Wild Card.

Lewis Hamilton receives Daytona 500 invitation from Bubba Wallace

Lewis Hamilton Bubba Wallace
Rudy Carezzevoli/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Lewis Hamilton is a fan of the new NASCAR Cup Series team formed by Denny Hamlin and Michael Jordan to field a car for Bubba Wallace.

Will the six-time Formula One champion also be a fan in person at a NASCAR race in the near future?

Wallace is hoping so.

After Hamilton tweeted his support Tuesday morning about the news of a Hamlin-Jordan-Wallace team making its debut with the 2021 season, Wallace responded with a sly invitation to the Daytona 500.

Much would need to be worked out, starting with how much garage and grandstand access would be afforded for a 2021 season opener that likely would occur during a still ongoing novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

But it would seem fitting given that Hamilton and Wallace have been two of the world’s most outspoken Black athletes about the quest for diversity and racial justice. Hamilton recently reaffirmed his commitment to activism after his donning a Breonna Taylor shirt sparked an FIA inquiry.

The idea of Hamilton attending the season opener already had legs, too. The Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 driver has expressed a desire to race the Daytona 500 after he has retired from Formula One.

He was a spectator (with racing legend Mario Andretti) at four-time champion Jeff Gordon’s final Cup race as a full-time in the 2015 season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. In 2011, Hamilton swapped cars with three-time champion Tony Stewart at Watkins Glen International.

Having rubbed shoulders with other racing greats so often, it only would be fitting if Hamilton — who is one victory from tying Michael Schumacher’s career record and also could tie the F1 record with a seventh championship this season — spent some time with the greatest basketball player of all time.

Jeff Gordon was flanked by Mario Andretti and Lewis Hamilton before the 2015 Cup season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway (Jared C. Tilton/NASCAR via Getty Images).