Provisional grid for the Singapore Grand Prix


Despite dominating practice and the early stages of qualifying, Sebastian Vettel was somewhat fortunate to have secured pole position for the Singapore Grand Prix after opting not to run twice in Q3. This allowed Nico Rosberg, Mark Webber and Romain Grosjean to take advantage of the grippier track, but none of them could overthrow the German driver at the top of the timesheets when it mattered.

Further down the grid, Fernando Alonso was forced to settle for P7 behind teammate Felipe Massa, whilst Esteban Gutierrez hit the headlines by getting into Q3 for the first time in his F1 career thanks to an aggressive strategy. Things were less encouraging for Kimi Raikkonen, who could only finish thirteenth after a back injury nearly forced him to miss qualifying altogether. He is however expected to race today.

Following qualifying, there have been no changes to the grid due to penalties handed out in Singapore or pre-existing penalties. However, the stewards did fine Giedo van der Garde, Esteban Gutierrez and Sebastian Vettel after all three drivers were judged to have broken the pit lane speed limit during practice on Friday.

Provisional grid for the Singapore Grand Prix

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3 Romain Grosjean Lotus
4 Mark Webber Red Bull
5 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari
7 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
8 Jenson Button McLaren
9 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
10 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber
11 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber
12 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
13 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
14 Sergio Perez McLaren
15 Adrian Sutil Force India
16 Valtteri Bottas Williams
17 Paul di Resta Force India
18 Pastor Maldonado Williams
19 Charles Pic Caterham
20 Giedo van der Garde Caterham
21 Jules Bianchi Marussia
22 Max Chilton Marussia