VIDEO: The Spirit of McLaren

Leave a comment

2013 marks the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of Bruce McLaren Motor Racing, better known to you and me as McLaren. The team has enjoyed considerable success over the years, claiming twelve drivers’ championships, eight constructors’ titles, 182 race victories and a wealth of Formula One legends including Emerson Fittipaldi, Niki Lauda, James Hunt, Alain Prost, Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen and Lewis Hamilton.

As part of the team’s celebrations, all fifty years have been squeezed into a three-minute video entitled “The Spirit of McLaren.” If you had any doubts about the legacy of this incredible team, this video will undoubtedly cause a re-think.


MotoGP points leader Fabio Quartararo scores third win of season

MotoGP Fabio Quartararo
LLUIS GENE/AFP via Getty Images
Leave a comment

Fabio Quartararo won the Catalan Grand Prix, recapturing the MotoGP points lead and his championship momentum Sunday with his third victory of the season.

Quartararo, who opened the season with his first two career victories in the premier series, took his first checkered flag in two months by winning at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya aboard his Petronas Yamaha SRT.

The French rider opened an eight-point lead (108-100) over Joan Mir, who finished second Sunday. Alex Rins was third.

After winning the previous race, Maverick Vinales slipped to 18 points behind Quartararo after a ninth-place finish.

Andrea Dovizioso was the points leader entering the race but crashed his Ducati in the second turn and placed last. Dovizioso fell three spots to fourth in the championship rankings, 24 points behind Fabio Quartararo in MotoGP.