IndyCar Driver Review: Justin Wilson

Leave a comment

With the IndyCar season in the books and a limited amount of news to come since the season finale at Fontana, my MotorSportsTalk colleague Chris Estrada and are taking a look back at the 2013 season just past. Chris and I each ranked our top 10 drivers and some of the biggest stories; now we take a look back at the field driver-by-driver.

In sixth place, IndyCar’s tallest driver and perpetual giant-slayer, Justin Wilson…


Justin Wilson

  • Team: Dale Coyne Racing
  • 2012: 15th Place, 1 Win, Best Start 3rd
  • 2013: 6th Place, Best Finish 2nd, Best Start 4th, 4 Podiums, 7 Top-5, 13 Top-10, 19 Laps Led, 12.2 Avg. Start, 8.9 Avg. Finish

DiZinno says: This was exhibit F, G, or H in the Wilson career file: outperform machinery, take underdog team to a level higher than you’d predict, and get overlooked by the bigger teams. Yes, while Penske and Ganassi have added a Montoya and a Kanaan for 2014, here was Wilson yet again doing his usual giant-killing performance – funny since he’s the giant of the IndyCar paddock at 6’4” or so – and doing so almost anonymously. There were four podiums and seven top-five finishes before Wilson’s unfortunate and untimely accident at Fontana. Still, it marked the best series finish for both team and driver since the final Champ Car season of 2007 (second, Wilson and seventh, Bruno Junqueira).

Estrada says: I’m not sure if Wilson will ever get the chance to climb into equipment that truly makes him a title contender. But it sure is fun to watch him make the most out of lesser gear and elevate a smaller operation up the pecking order. While not quite able to get back to Victory Lane, Wilson put Dale Coyne Racing on the podium with game efforts at Long Beach, Belle Isle Race 1, Sonoma (best 2013 finish of second), and Houston Race 1. You just hope that the injuries he sustained at Fontana don’t wind up slowing down his progress next year.

Final Rolex 24 results by class

Leave a comment

For the third time in four years, Wayne Taylor Racing is victorious in the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona.

Kamui Kobayashi drove the team’s No. 10 Cadillac for the race’s final three hours, and won by more than a minute over the No. 77 Mazda of Oliver Jarvis. Loic Duvall finished third in the No. 5 Mustang Sampling Cadillac.

Joining Kobayashi in victory lane were co-drivers, Regner van der Zande, Scott Dixon and Ryan Briscoe.

Here’s a look at some of the winners in the other classes:


The No. 81 Dragonspeed ORECA crossed the finish line first in the five-car LMP2 class, with Ben Hanley winning by two laps over the second-place Mathiasen Motorsports entry driven by Gabriel Abury. Nic Minassian finished third in the No. 18 Era Motorsport entry.

Dragonspeed’s winning team also included co-drivers Colin Braun, Harrison Newey and Henrik Hedman.


For the second consecutive year, BMW RLL took the GLTM class honors, as Jesse Krohn took the checkered flag in the team’s No. 24 BMW M8 GTE. Krohn was joined by co-drivers John Edwards, Augusto Farfus and Chaz Mostert.

Porsche Teammates Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy finished second and third, respectfully.


The Andrea Caldarelli took the class honors in the No. 48 Lamborghini Huracan GT3 of Paul Miller Racing, finishing ahead of Marco Mapelli and Mirko Bortolotti.

Caldarelli’s co-drivers included Bryan Sellers, Corey Lewis and Madison Snow.

Click here for full race results by class

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter