Starting grid for the Brazilian Grand Prix


Sebastian Vettel’s domination of Formula One is something that even the weather gods cannot prevent, it would appear. Despite a deluge marring qualifying for the Brazilian Grand Prix that caused Q3 to be delayed by forty minutes, the four-time world champion still eased to pole position by over six-tenths of a second from Nico Rosberg, who made it an all-German front-row.

However, the race does not appear to be a foregone conclusion. With fast-starting Fernando Alonso in third place and Mark Webber – racing for the final time in Formula One – P4, both drivers will be flying the flag for the over-thirties as they look to bring Vettel’s winning streak to a shattering end at Interlagos on Sunday.

Following qualifying, there has been one change to the starting grid:

  • Sergio Perez has received a five-place grid penalty after his accident in Q2 meant that he required a new gearbox.

Additionally, Marussia received a fine for improperly releasing their cars in Q1 whilst Max Chilton and Esteban Gutierrez both received a reprimand.

Starting grid for the 2013 Brazilian Grand Prix

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
4 Mark Webber Red Bull
5 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
6 Romain Grosjean Lotus
7 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
8 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
9 Felipe Massa Ferrari
10 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber
11 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus
12 Paul di Resta Force India
13 Valtteri Bottas Williams
14 Jenson Button McLaren
15 Adrian Sutil Force India
16 Pastor Maldonado Williams
17 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber
18 Charles Pic Caterham
19 Sergio Perez McLaren
20 Giedo van der Garde Caterham
21 Jules Bianchi Marussia
22 Max Chilton Marussia