Mahindra Racing confirms Formula E entry


Mahindra Racing has confirmed that it will be competing in the inaugural FIA Formula E Championship in 2014, becoming the eighth team to announce its participation in the new series.

Formula E is the first electric powered racing series to receive FIA backing, and the initial interest has been highly encouraging. A number of established racing teams have already confirmed that they will be racing including American outfits Andretti Autosport and Dragon Racing. Mahindra, which is also the only Indian team to race in Moto 3, has now confirmed that it too will be racing in the series come the first round in Beijing next September.

“We are very excited about our new adventure with Formula E,” chairman of Mahindra Racing S.P. Shukla explained. “Mahindra Racing is relatively young, but we have seen how racing delivers benefits to our organisation, not only from the brand perspective, but equally in terms of technology advances and motivation.

“This is an excellent addition to our racing portfolio and we are looking forward to a successful future in Formula E.”

With Mahindra’s participation confirmed, Formula E is guaranteed to start with at least eight teams coming from seven different nations. GP2 team DAMS has confirmed its entry (the delightfully-named e.dams) as well as ex-Formula One team Super Aguri.

The driver line-ups are yet to be confirmed, but former F1 drivers Lucas di Grassi and Karun Chandhok are widely expected to secure a seat. Also, IndyCar’s Takuma Sato is also thought to be set to join Super Aguri, but he will be hoping that this partnership is far more fruitful than their time together in F1.

The jury may still be out on electric racing, but Formula E is becoming harder and harder not to like.