Ganassi, CORE, Porsche are Sebring winners


More to come later from Sebring but after a late-race caution, the 11th on the day, Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates restarted strongly and captured the overall win in its Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring debut.

The No. 01 Ford EcoBoost Riley co-driven by Marino Franchitti, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas jumped ahead of a series of P2-spec cars on that last sequence to emerge ahead of the fray. The No. 1 Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD ARX-03b and No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP completed the podium.

Porsche swept the two GT classes, with Porsche North America (No. 912 Porsche 911 RSR, GT Le Mans) and Magnus Racing (No. 44 Porsche 911 GT America, GT Daytona) on top.

Porsche’s affiliated U.S. program, CORE autosport, also emerged victorious with its second straight win in the PC class.

The bigger story after the race though was an admission by IMSA officials that mistakes were made.