GP2: Vandoorne wins again as Palmer extends championship lead


Jolyon Palmer has taken a huge step towards the 2014 GP2 Series championship after battling back from a qualifying exclusion to extend his lead at the top of the standings over nearest rival Felipe Nasr.

The British driver was victorious in the sprint race on Sunday after finishing eighth in the feature to secure reverse grid pole. Nasr, on the other hand, could finish no higher than sixth all weekend, and is now some 43 points adrift of Palmer in the title race.

Palmer’s weekend got off to a disastrous start when he was excluded from qualifying for a fuel infringement. As he did not have enough fuel left in his car at the end of the session, he was not included in the final classification. In seventh, Nasr appeared to have a great chance to cut the gap at the top.

However, it was Stoffel Vandoorne who took the spoils, winning the race from pole position ahead of Arthur Pic. The McLaren junior has been one of the stars of this year’s field, and should be in contention for the championship in 2015.

Palmer managed to produce a champion’s drive to finish the race in eighth place, thus securing himself reverse pole. However, Nasr had missed his chance to inflict maximum damage on the Briton, coming home P6 and making a gain of just two points.

From third on the grid on Sunday, Nasr still appeared to be in contention for the win, only for a bad start to end his chances. He did manage to recover to seventh by the flag, but with Palmer winning ahead of Stefano Coletti and DAMS teammate Stephane Richelmi.

The second race was marred by the disqualification of Spanish racer Sergio Canamasas. The Trident driver caused a number of on-track incidents, with the stewards eventually opting to remove him from the race before it had finished. It is not yet clear whether or not they will look to take any more action against him.

GP2 now enjoys a month’s break before venturing to Sochi in support of the Russian Grand Prix. With just two rounds and four races to go, Nasr faces an almighty task to deny Palmer the GP2 title, and it seems likely that Great Britain will be celebrating its first win in the series since Lewis Hamilton back in 2006.

Peacock to stream all Supercross and Motocross races in 2023, plus inaugural SuperMotocross Championship

Peacock Supercross Motocross 2023
Feld Entertainment, Inc.

NBC Sports and Feld Motor Sports announced that Peacock and the NBC family of networks will stream all 31 races of the combined Monster Energy Supercross, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross and the newly created SuperMotocross World Championship beginning January 7, 2023 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California and ending October 14 in the place where Supercross was born: the Los Angeles Coliseum.

The combined series will create a 10-month calendar of events, making it one of the longest professional sports’ seasons in the United States.

The agreement is for multiple years. The season finale will air live on Peacock and the USA Network.

Peacock will present live coverage of all races, qualifying and heats across both series. The 31 total races will mark a record for the combined number of Supercross and Pro Motocross events that NBC Sports will present in a single season.

NBC, USA Network and CNBC will provide coverage of all races, including the SuperMotocross World Championship Playoffs and Final, through 2023 and beyond. For more information about the Peacock streaming service, click here.

“With our wide array of live and original motorsports offerings, Peacock is a natural home for Supercross and Pro Motocross races,” said Rick Cordella, Chief Commercial Officer, Peacock. “We’re looking forward to providing fans with an easily-accessible destination to find every race all season long, including the exciting finish with the newly formed SuperMotocross World Championship.”

MORE: A conversation about media rights created the new SuperMotocross World Championship Series

The NBC family of networks has been home to Supercross for the past several seasons and this is a continuation of that relationship. The media rights for both series expired at the end of 2022, which allowed Supercross and Motocross to combine their efforts.

In fact, it was that conversation that led to the formation of the SuperMotocross World Championship (SMX).

The SMX series will begin on September 9, 2023 after the conclusion of the Pro Motocross season. Points will accumulate from both series to seed the SMX championship, which creates a record number of unified races.

“The SuperMotocross World Championship adds a new dimension to the annual Supercross and Pro Motocross seasons that will result in crowning the ultimate World Champion,” said Stephen C. Yaros, SVP Global Media and Supercross for Feld Motor Sports. “We are thrilled to be extending our relationship with NBC Sports so our fans can watch all the racing action streaming live on Peacock and the option to also watch select rounds on NBC, USA Network and CNBC.”

Complete 2023 coverage schedules for Supercross, Pro Motocross and the SuperMotocross World Championship on Peacock, NBC, USA Network and CNBC will be announced in the near future.