PWC: Titles on the line at Miller Motorsports Park doubleheader


So all the championship talk this weekend is about NASCAR kicking off the 2014 Chase in Chicagoland, and the new FIA Formula E Championship kicking off in Beijing… right?

Eh, not exactly. Just outside of Salt Lake City at Tooele, Utah’s Miller Motorsports Park, the Pirelli World Challenge will crown its 2014 champions after a pair of doubleheader races for its GT and TC classes.

Friday will see Round 15 for GT/GT-A/GTS and Round 13 for TC/TCA/TCB with the finales, Rounds 16 and 14, respectively, to be held Saturday. Round 16 for the GT classes is a makeup race for a weather-canceled race at St. Petersburg back in March.

In GT, Johnny O’Connell (Cadillac) holds a 42-point lead on Mike Skeen (Audi) heading into the weekend. Skeen can take the points lead with a win and O’Connell finishing fourth or worse in Round 15, among other scenarios, but if O’Connell finishes ahead of Skeen in Round 15 he’ll keep the edge into Round 16.

Michael Mills (Porsche) holds a 48-point edge in GT-A and is in the driver’s seat for that title provided he scores points in both races.

GTS sees Mark Wilkins (Kia) on top of Lawson Aschenbach (Chevrolet) by 80 points. Aschenbach can take the points lead with a win or second in Round 15 and some help, otherwise Wilkins figures to hold the lead into Round 16.

Third-placed Anthony Lazzaro (GT) and Jack Baldwin (GTS) still have mathematical chances but need a bit of help in Round 15 to have a realistic chance going into Round 16.

Canadian rookie Michael DiMeo (Honda) has mathematically clinched the Touring Car title and can set a series single-season win record with a ninth in either Round 13 or 14.

Touring Car A will likely come down to rookie Jason Wolfe (Kia) versus Shea Holbrook (Honda), with Wolfe up by 36 entering the weekend. Holbrook, if she overtakes him, will become the first female class champion in the 25-year series history.

Brian Price holds a decent lead in Touring Car B-Spec over a trio of youngsters in Nathan Stacy, Tyler Palmer and Paul Holton.

All four weekend races will be live streamed on, with more info on the race here via the series website. Meanwhile the races will air on NBCSN Sunday, September 28, at 2:30 p.m. ET.