Nasty wreck, heavy rains force NHRA to reschedule Charlotte race finish in Texas (video)


For the second time in the last three races, the National Hot Rod Association has been forced to start a race in one location and finish it in another.

Nearly a month ago, final eliminations of the NHRA event at Brainerd, Minn., were unable to be completed due to rain.

The race was eventually completed two weeks ago as part of the U.S. Nationals in Brownsburg, Ind.

The rain jinx struck again in Sunday’s Pep Boys Carolina Nationals at zMAX Dragway in Concord, N.C. (suburban Charlotte).

The NHRA was unable to complete the final three rounds of Top Fuel and Funny Car, the final two rounds of Pro Stock and all rounds of Pro Stock Motorcycle.

As a result, instead of extending the race until Monday (more rain is expected), the NHRA will complete all unfinished rounds and crown a race winner about 1,050 miles west in Ennis, Texas.

All the remaining rounds will be wrapped into next weekend’s AAA Texas FallNationals at Texas Motorplex.

Rain stopped competition after only the first rounds of Top Fuel and Funny Car had been completed.

The Pro Stock class had begun to run when a frightful crash involving driver V. Gaines occurred, prompting a cleanup delay which was followed by a hard rain.

Despite the wreck, Gaines was credited with the win in his race with Allen Johnson because the latter crossed the lane dividing stripe as their drag race began.

Gaines, who was uninjured, will be allowed to compete with a replacement car, NHRA officials announced.

“It happened so fast, I was unable to catch it,” Gaines said, according to an NHRA media release. “I’m just sick that we ruined a very good race car. We’ll come back and rebound.”

Check out the video of Gaines’ wreck below:

Follow me @JerryBonkowski