NASCAR: Erik Jones fastest in first of three Truck practices today at Loudon


A busy Friday for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series at New Hampshire Motor Speedway has begun with Erik Jones claiming top honors in this morning’s first practice session.

Jones, driving the No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota Tundra, ran the fastest lap around the “Magic Mile” in the session at 131.925 mph.

This weekend marks Jones’ first trip to New Hampshire, but there is some degree of familiarity for him nonetheless. He’s driving the same Truck chassis that he won in earlier this season at Iowa Speedway.

“[NHMS is] similar to a lot of the tracks I’ve raced at coming up in the short track world,” Jones said earlier this week. “We went to the Milwaukee Mile earlier this year with KBM’s late model team and we were able to get a win on a similar track.

“Hopefully, I’ll be able to take a little bit of what we learned from that race and it will be able to help me out with what I’m looking for in the truck this weekend.”

Jones’ hot lap this morning knocked off defending Truck Series champion/current points leader Matt Crafton’s lap at 131.035 mph in the No. 88 ThorSport Racing Toyota Tundra.

16-year-old racer Cole Custer led the Chevrolets by placing third at 131.031 mph in the No. 00 Haas Automation Chevy Silverado. Another Chevy driver, Joey Coulter, was fourth-fastest (130.999 mph), and Ryan Blaney (130.864 mph) rounded out the Top 5 in his Ford.

Darrell “Bubba” Wallace Jr., Johnny Sauter, Timothy Peters, German Quiroga, and Cameron Hayley made up positions 6-10.

Two more Truck practices will take place this afternoon from 1:30-2:30 p.m. ET, and again from 3-4:25 p.m. ET.