IMSA: Ganassi holds on for COTA win; Viper, 8Star big winners

Leave a comment

Chip Ganassi Racing parlayed a two-stop strategy into victory at today’s Lone Star Le Mans, the penultimate round of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship season.

Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas banked their third win of the season in the No. 01 Riley-Ford one where Pruett had to hold off Joao Barbosa and later Alex Brundle.

Brundle was a hard-luck second in the debuting No. 42 OAK Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda, co-driving with Gustavo Yacaman. Brundle nearly fought back to the win in what was an exciting finish, but came up about 2.3 seconds in arrears by the checkered flag.

Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi ended third in the No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP.

Sean Rayhall and Luis Diaz followed up their VIR win with another triumph in PC for 8Star Motorsports. Despite contact between Rayhall and Colin Braun, Braun and Jon Bennett were able to clinch the class championship in the No. 54 CORE autosport entry.

Dodge Viper was the big winner in GT, sweeping both GT Le Mans and GT Daytona.

The Jonathan Bomarito/Kuno Wittmer win in GTLM came courtesy of a loss of drive that took the No. 911 Porsche out of the lead, which had been driven by Jorg Bergmeister and Nick Tandy. It also propels the drivers of the No. 93 Dodge Viper SRT GTS-R into the class points lead.

Jeroen Bleekemolen and Ben Keating took the GTD win in the No. 33 Riley Motorsports Dodge Viper SRT GT3-R, following Bleekmolen’s late-race pass of Dane Cameron in the No. 300 Turner Motorsport BMW Z4 GT3.

Cameron fell to third behind Andy Lally in the Magnus Racing Porsche 911 GT America.

More to follow from Circuit of the Americas next week.

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.