NASCAR: Cole Custer on pole for Truck Series at N.H.


The battle for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship may be in for a twist today at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

ThorSport Racing teammates Matt Crafton and Johnny Sauter are the top two in the standings with Crafton holding a five-point edge. But neither of them advanced out of the first round of qualifying for this afternoon’s UNOH 175.

Sauter was only able to qualify 18th, while Crafton, the defending Truck Series champion, didn’t post a lap at all. An electrical issue on his No. 88 Toyota Tundra forced his team to raise the hood, ending their session early.

Meanwhile, their closest pursuers in the championship qualified farther up and got critical track position for the start of today’s event.

Ryan Blaney (-16 points behind Crafton) and Darrell “Bubba” Wallace, Jr. (-35 points behind Crafton) will both be starting on the second row – Wallace on the inside and Blaney on the outside.

But in front of them at the green flag will be pole sitter Cole Custer and Cameron Hayley.

The 16-year-old Custer collected his second career series pole for just his seventh career series start with a track-record lap of 131.897 mph. Hayley settled for second on the grid following a lap of 131.642 mph.

“The first run, it was so cold out that we couldn’t get the tires to come up [in temperature] and I almost wrecked on my out-to-go lap, but we got it better,” Custer told Fox Sports. “It was a whole team effort to get better, and we were able to get the pole.”

Brennan Newberry and Tyler Reddick will line up in Row 3, followed by Erik Jones and Timothy Peters in Row 4, then Joey Coulter and John Hunter Nemechek in Row 5.

The green flag for today’s UNOH 175 is expected to wave shortly after 1 p.m. ET (check local listings).


Max Verstappen is PointsBet favorite to score sixth staight in 2022 Singapore Grand Prix

PointsBet 2022 Singapore odds
Mark Thompson / Getty Images

Max Verstappen is the PointsBet Sportsbook odds favorite to win the 2022 Singapore Grand Prix on the Marina Bay Street course to stretch his current win streak to six consecutive. He shows odds of -200 this week.

Formula 1 did not compete in Singapore in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but Verstappen has podium finishes in his last two attempts on this track. he was second in 2018 and third in 2019. In the first 15 races of this season, he has failed to stand on the podium only twice and has an average finish of 2.73.

With minus odds, the way to determine a payout is by subtraction. In order for a bettor to earn $100, he must wager $200 this week; with that wager, he will get back his initial stake and winnings of $100.

For bettors more comfortable with fractional odds, a bet of +300 is the same as 3/1.

Charles Leclerc is ranked second this week with +400 odds. He has two previous Singapore GP starts to his credit with a best of second in 2019. He is coming off back-to-back podium finishes with a third in the Dutch GP and a second at Monza.

Ranked third is Carlos Sainz, Jr. with a line of +1100. He has top-five finishes in four of his last five starts, but only one of these, a third in the Belgian GP, was on the podium. Sainz is one of four winners other than Verstappen this season. His victory came in the British GP.

Lewis Hamilton shows a line of +1200. His last win came last fall in the Saudi Arabian GP and the Mercedes team has struggled to contend for victory in 2022. They are improving, however, with eight top-fives in the last nine races. Hamilton has two wins in his last three Singapore starts, which came in 2017 and 2018.

Rounding out the top five is Hamilton’s teammate George Russell at +1800. He has not won, but has shown remarkable consistency with top-fives in all but one race. Notably, his only bad finish came in his home GP in England. Russell has one previous start at Marina Bay; he finished last in the 2019 race. He finished fourth in 2019 as part of a four-race streak of top-fives.

The most recent Singapore GP winner from 2019, Sebastian Vettel is a longshot at +50000.

PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner, and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.

Italian GP Odds
Dutch GP Odds
Belgium GP Odds
French GP Odds
Austrian GP Odds
Canadian GP Odds
Azerbaijan GP Odds
Monaco GP Odds
Spanish GP Odds
Miami GP Odds
Saudi Arabian GP odds
Australian GP odds
Romagna GP Odds