Red Bull GRC: Scott Speed scores third win of 2014 in Los Angeles Race 1


A victory for Scott Speed, another podium for Ken Block, and a major setback for Nelson Piquet Jr. has tightened up the Red Bull Global Rallycross championship after the first of two races this weekend at the Port of Los Angeles.

Speed grabbed the holeshot in today’s final and went on to lead Joni Wiman and Block across the stripe, earning his third win of the season and his first since the X Games in Austin.

MORE: Full Race Replay – Red Bull Global Rallycross: Los Angeles, Race 1

But Piquet did not make the final after being knocked out of his semifinal heat early with wall contact and then failing to make it out of the Last Chance Qualifier.

As a result, Block has pulled into a tie with Piquet for the championship lead at 248 points and Speed is just two points behind them. Wiman is also in the hunt at just 10 points back.

Put it all together, and tomorrow’s event in L.A. – which you can watch at 5 p.m. ET on NBC and NBC Sports Live Extra – is shaping up to be the most dramatic of the 2014 GRC season so far.

“We’re back to our ways,” Speed told NBCSN after his win. “We’ve had a great weekend with no problems so far, and that’s the result. We’ve still got the speed. These guys are getting closer though, it wasn’t easy. But I couldn’t be happier with our team.”

Block was hoping for more today, but was thrilled to have erased his points deficit to Piquet.

“It’s all about consistency and points at this [juncture], so I’m happy to come away with the podium…My car is nice and clean, I still have some great tires on it, and Nelson had some really bad luck,” Block said.

“That was the really big fear this weekend. If you were to blow a complete race and have damage from the first day that could hinder you on the second day – I mean, your championship’s over. So to come away with a podium and good championship points, I am stoked.”

Semifinal One went as badly as you could imagine for Piquet, who entered this weekend with a 40-point lead in the standings over Block.

Apparent contact with Steve Arpin sent Piquet into the wall just seconds after the start, and the damage to the latter’s Ford Fiesta ST was enough to end his race early.

Up front, Sverre Isachsen took the holeshot and held the lead for the first half of the semi. But around the midway point, Speed took the joker off of Turn 6 and was just able to squeeze past Isachsen when he returned to the main course.

Speed would then hold off Isachsen for the win, while Travis Pastrana captured third to move into the final with them.

Wiman and Block quickly locked horns for the lead in Semifinal Two, with the pair making flush contact with each other on Lap 2. But Block ultimately won the battle for P1 and left Wiman to deal with Daytona winner Rhys Millen for second.

On Lap 4, the New Zealand native managed to dust Wiman with an inside pass for the runner-up spot. In the end, Block, Millen, and Wiman crossed the line in first, second and third respectively to go to the final.

Piquet and his SH Racing Rallycross team were able to make repairs in time to have him compete in the Last Chance Qualifier, but he had to start on the last row. And just like in his semifinal, Piquet was involved in a quick incident; this time, getting into the back of Bucky Lasek and turning him around.

Lasek couldn’t get re-fired and a red flag was thrown. The seven cars were lined up again for a restart, but Emma Gilmour went around in the opening corner and found herself disabled on the curbing.

A local yellow at that part of the track flew, but the race stayed green. Piquet rose as high as fifth, but was passed by Lasek for sixth on the final lap and could not advance to the final. Tanner Foust, Patrik Sandell, Arpin, and Austin Dyne earned the four transfer positions.

The 10-car main event had Isachsen and Sandell fall to the back early, while Dyne suffered an early end to his race with a reported right front assembly problem. Foust was running in the Top 5, but with two to go, he came to a stop as well with smoke billowing from his VW.

However, it was smooth sailing for his Andretti Autosport teammate Speed, who led from start to finish.

Final 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona results, points


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall results were all streaks: two consecutive victories in the endurance classic for Meyer Shank Racing and three in a row for Acura.

And Helio Castroneves became the second driver to win three consecutive Rolex 24s and the first to win in three straight years (Peter Gregg won in 1973, ’75 and ’76; the race wasn’t held in ’74 because of a global oil crisis).

Starting from the pole position, Tom Blomqvist took the checkered flag in the No. 60 ARX-06 that led a race-high 365 of 783 laps with co-drivers Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud and Colin Braun.

RESULTS: Click here for the finishing order in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona l By class

POINTS: Standings after Rolex 24 at Daytona l Michelin Endurance Cup standings l Daytona endurance points

Meyer Shank Racing now has two Rolex 24 victories and the 2022 championship since entering the premier prototype category of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in 2021.

“I think what’s so special about this team is we are a small team compared to some of our opponents, but the atmosphere, the way we work, enables people to get the best out of themselves, and I think that’s why we’re such high achievers,” Blomqvist said. “I think there’s no egos. It’s a very open book, and that just enables each and every one of us to reach our potential. I think that’s why we’ve achieved so much success in really a short time at this level of competition.”

It’s the 16th IMSA victory for MSR.

The 61st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona marked the debut of the Grand Touring Prototype category that brought hybrid engine technology to IMSA’s top level.

In other categories:

LMP2: James Allen passed Ben Hanley on the final lap and delivered a victory in the No. 55 ORECA by 0.016 seconds. It’s the second IMSA victory for Proton Competition, which last won at Sebring in 2012. It was the first Rolex 24 victory for Allen and co-drivers Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Poordad and Francesco Pizzi.

GTD Pro: Cooper MacNeil won in the last start of his IMSA career as the No. 79 Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for WeatherTech Racing and the team’s fourth career victory.

MacNeil, who co-drove with Maro Engel, Jules Gounon and Daniel Juncadella, earned his 12th career victory and first at the Rolex 24.

“Winning by last IMSA race is tremendous,” MacNeil said.

GTD: The No. 27 Heart of Racing Team delivered the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for Aston Martin, which has been competing in endurance races at Daytona International Speedway since 1964. Drivers Marco Sorensen, Roman De Angelis, Darren Turner and Ian James (also the team principal) earned the victory in the English brand’s 13th attempt.

It’s also the first Rolex 24 at Daytona win for Heart of Racing, which has seven IMSA wins.

LMP3: Anthony Mantella, Wayne Boyd, Nico Varrone and Thomas Merrill drove the No. 17 AWA Duqueine D08 to victory by 12 laps for the team’s first class win in IMSA.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Lap chart

Leader sequence

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

Flag analysis

Weather report

NEXT: The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season will resume with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring March 18 with coverage across NBC, USA and Peacock.