Ty Dillon, Sam Hornish Jr. on front row for Saturday night’s NNS race at Kentucky

Leave a comment

Ty Dillon is going to do everything he can to still potentially win the Nationwide Series championship this season.

He took a big step towards that by winning the pole for tonight’s VisitMyrtleBeach.com 300 at Kentucky Speedway.

It’s Dillon’s second NNS pole of the season.

Dillon, who is in his first full season in the NNS series, covered the 1.5-mile banked oval at a field-best speed of 175.690 mph.

Dillon comes into tonight’s race in third place in the NNS standings, 40 points behind series leader Chase Elliott, and 22 points behind second-ranked Regan Smith.

Sam Hornish Jr., whose name is being prominently mentioned of late as a possible replacement for Marcos Ambrose at Richard Petty Motorsports for next season, was second-fastest at 175.245 mph.

Series veteran Brendan Gaughan was third-fastest at 175.097 mph, followed by Cale Conley (175.046), Brian Scott (174.853) and Chris Buescher (174.791).

Elliott Sadler, another name being bandied around for Ambrose’s Sprint Cup seat at RPM, was seventh-fastest at 174.284 mph, followed by Michael McDowell (174.070), Elliott (173.930) and Smith (173.600).

Trevor Bayne qualified and will start 11th (173.422), alongside Justin Boston (173.410).

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

WATCH: Red Bull F1 team completes pit stop in zero gravity

1 Comment

The Red Bull Racing pit crew may have already made headlines last weekend when it completed the fastest pit stop in Formula One history, changing Max Verstappen’s tires in 1.82 seconds, but the team’s most recent stunt took their skills to new heights – quite literally.

With the help of the Russian Space agency Roscomos, a group of the team’s mechanics completed the world’s first zero-gravity pit stop, on-board a IIyushin II-76K cosmonaut training plane.

Using a 2005 BR1, the team filmed the viral video over the course of a week, enduring seven flights and about 80 parabolas – periods in which the plane climbs 45 degrees before falling again at a ballistic arch of 45 degrees, creating a period of weightlessness for approximately 22 seconds.

With such a short time frame between weightlessness periods, the car and equipment had to be both quickly and safely secured before gravity once again took effect. Each filming lasted roughly 15 seconds, and the stunt was the most physically and technically demanding activity the live demo team had ever undertaken.

“It pushed us harder than I thought it would,” said Red Bull Support Team Mechanic Joe Robinson. “You realize how much you rely on gravity when you don’t have any!

“It challenges you to think and operate in a different way – and that was brilliant. It was a once in a lifetime opportunity and honestly, I could have stayed and done it all month. It was amazing. I think it’s the coolest, most fun thing the Live Demo team has ever done with a show car.”

Though Red Bull was the first team to perform a pit stop in zero gravity, surprisingly Red Bull was not the first team to put a car through zero gravity. In 1999, McLaren driver David Coulthard and his car experienced zero gravity as part of a promotion for then-sponsor West Cigarettes.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter