IndyCar driver presence returns for this year’s Petit Le Mans


Last year, Verizon IndyCar Series drivers had a dilemma in terms of their ancillary sports car commitments. Many who opt to run the endurance races in Daytona, Sebring, Le Mans or Petit Le Mans couldn’t run the latter as Petit conflicted with the season-ending IndyCar race in Fontana, October 19.

No such conflicts occur this time around, and as such, there are several full-season IndyCar stars in action for this year’s TUDOR United SportsCar Championship finale on October 4.

Sebastien Bourdais returns to bolster Action Express Racing’s lineup in the No. 5 Corvette DP alongside Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi, who seek not only the full-season TUDOR Championship title but the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup title as well.

Scott Dixon joins Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas in the No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford, rather than Sage Karam, who has raced a handful of events this season. The second CGR car that ran at Daytona and Sebring is not entered for Petit.

The pair of Ryans are back in GT Le Mans. Ryan Briscoe is listed to drive both Corvette Racing C7.Rs, while Ryan Hunter-Reay resumes in the No. 91 SRT Motorsports Dodge Viper SRT GTS-R alongside Dominik Farnbacher and Marc Goossens.

Simon Pagenaud was due to run Petit Le Mans but with Extreme Speed Motorsports withdrawing from the event and instead opting to run the FIA World Endurance Championship race in Shanghai, that leaves the Frenchman without an opportunity.

Here’s the full Petit Le Mans entry list.