IndyCar Driver Review: Will Power


MotorSportsTalk looks back at the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series season with a full season driver-by-driver recap. We start, unsurprisingly, at the top with new series champion Will Power.


Will Power

  • Team: Team Penske
  • 2013: 4th Place, 3 Wins, 2 Poles, 4 Podiums, 7 Top-5, 9 Top-10, 351 Laps Led, 4.3 Avg. Start, 11.0 Avg. Finish
  • 2014: Champion, 3 Wins, 4 Poles, 7 Podiums, 8 Top-5, 15 Top-10, 623 Laps Led, 8.5 Avg. Start, 6.4 Avg. Finish

The champion at long last. The stars came together for Will Power in 2014 after a star-crossed previous four to five years, where wins were frequent but the start-to-finish consistency was lacking.

Not that his 2014 was an exercise in consistency, mind you. The mid-year run of penalties threatened to destroy his campaign, but in each occurrence, Power somehow managed to fight back to a top-10 result.

The wins and poles were there, as always, but in a field this deep and this competitive, there wasn’t the same frequency there was two or three years ago. Beyond the obvious, where Power won his championship was with days like ninth at Toronto race one, or sixth at Mid-Ohio, or rebounding to 10th at Sonoma, after myriad setbacks. He’s established an oval prowess that wasn’t present several years ago and coupled with his engineer David Faustino and the rest of the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet outfit, he set the bar in 2014. An overdue and deserved championship.