Veteran NASCAR mechanic, car chief and crew member Gordon Gibbs remembered


Multi-talented and veteran mechanic, car chief and pit crew member Gordon Ernest Gibbs is being remembered for his long and successful career in NASCAR.

Gibbs, of Lexington, N.C., passed away Tuesday after a lengthy battle with cancer, according to an obituary provided by the Hartsell Funeral Home in Concord, N.C.

Gibbs had just turned 56 years old on Aug. 30.

Gibbs worked for a number of teams in NASCAR during his lengthy career:

* He was mechanic and tire changer for Hendrick Motorsports and driver Geoff Bodine when the latter won the 1986 Daytona 500.

* During his career, he also served as a pit crew member for several drivers including Ricky Rudd, Brett Bodine, Sterling Marlin and Lake Speed.

* He was crew chief for driver Steve Grissom in 1994, and then went to work for Joe Gibbs Racing with Joe Gibbs’ sons J.D. (now president of JGR) and Coy Gibbs in a late-model racing operation.

* Gordon Gibbs returned to HMS in 1999 and was car chief for several drivers including Joe Nemechek, Wally Dallenbach Jr., Jerry Nadeau, Kyle Busch and David Green.

* He left HMS in 2008 to join JR Motorsports as shop foreman.

Among condolences offered on Gibbs’ memorial page at were those from David Green and long-time NASCAR crew chief Tony Furr:

David Green: “I’m so sorry to hear about Gordon. He was a friend and a man that taught me a lot about racing. Always made you smile when you were with him. Was respected throughout the NASCAR community and will greatly be missed. The Gibbs family will be in our thoughts and prayers.”

Tony Furr: “Sorry to hear about Gordy, one of best car chiefs I worked with and a great friend. (He) will be missed.”

The family of Gordon Gibbs will receive friends at Hartsell Funeral Home on Monday from 5 to 7 pm ET, with a memorial service slated immediately afterward in the adjacent chapel.

Gordon Gibbs is survived by wife Kristin Coble Gibbs, daughter Kimberlee Gibbs, son Ryan Gibbs (Allison) and granddaughter Sophia Nicole, brother Tom Gibbs, sister, Kathy Stimson, stepson Shane Young and stepdaughter Shelly Young.

Gibbs was preceded in death by his parents, the late Ernest and Mary Katherine Gibbs, as well as a brother, Robert Gibbs.

Memorials may be made to Glenn A. Kiser Hospice House, 1229 Statesville Blvd, Salisbury, NC 28144 or Relay for Life, 1901 Brunswick Ave, Suite 100, Charlotte, NC 28027.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

Winner Josef Newgarden earns $3.666 million from a record Indy 500 purse of $17 million


INDIANAPOLIS — The first Indy 500 victory for Josef Newgarden also was the richest in race history from a record 2023 purse of just more than $17 million.

The two-time NTT IndyCar Series champion, who continued his celebration Monday morning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earned $3.666 million for winning the 107th running of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.

The purse and winner’s share both are the largest in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

It’s the second consecutive year that the Indy 500 purse set a record after the 2022 Indy 500 became the first to crack the $16 million mark (nearly doubling the 2021 purse that offered a purse of $8,854,565 after a crowd limited to 135,000 because of the COVID-19 pandemic).

The average payout for IndyCar drivers was $500,600 (exceeding last year’s average of $485,000).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Roger Penske, whose team also fields Newgarden’s No. 2 Dallara-Chevrolet, had made raising purses a priority since buying the track in 2020. But Penske but was unable to post big money purses until the race returned to full capacity grandstands last year.

The largest Indy 500 purse before this year was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500 won by Scott Dixon (whose share was $2,988,065). Ericsson’s haul made him the second Indy 500 winner to top $3 million (2009 winner Helio Castroneves won $3,048,005.

Runner-up Marcus Ericsson won $1.043 million after falling short by 0.0974 seconds in the fourth-closest finish in Indy 500 history.

The 107th Indy 500 drew a crowd of at least 330,000 that was the largest since the sellout for the 100th running in 2016, and the second-largest in more than two decades, according to track officials.

“This is the greatest race in the world, and it was an especially monumental Month of May featuring packed grandstands and intense on-track action,” Penske Entertainment president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “Now, we have the best end card possible for the 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500: a record-breaking purse for the history books.”

Benjamin Pedersen was named the Indy 500 rookie of the year, earning a $50,000 bonus.

The race’s purse is determined through contingency and special awards from IMS and IndyCar. The awards were presented Monday night in the annual Indy 500 Victory Celebration at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

The payouts for the 107th Indy 500:

1. Josef Newgarden, $3,666,000
2. Marcus Ericsson, $1,043,000
3. Santino Ferrucci, $481,800
4. Alex Palou, $801,500
5. Alexander Rossi, $574,000
6. Scott Dixon, $582,000
7. Takuma Sato, $217,300
8. Conor Daly, $512,000
9. Colton Herta, $506,500
10. Rinus VeeKay, $556,500
11. Ryan Hunter‐Reay, $145,500
12. Callum Ilott, $495,500
13. Devlin DeFrancesco, $482,000
14. Scott McLaughlin, $485,000
15. Helio Castroneves, $481,500
16. Tony Kanaan, $105,000
17. Marco Andretti, $102,000
18. Jack Harvey, $472,000
19. Christian Lundgaard, $467,500
20. Ed Carpenter, $102,000
21. Benjamin Pedersen (R), $215,300
22. Graham Rahal, $565,500*
23. Will Power, $488,000
24. Pato O’Ward, $516,500
25. Simon Pagenaud, $465,500
26. Agustín Canapino (R), $156,300
27. Felix Rosenqvist, $278,300
28. Kyle Kirkwood, $465,500
29. David Malukas, $462,000
30. Romain Grosjean, $462,000
31. Sting Ray Robb (R), $463,000
32. RC Enerson (R), $103,000
33.  Katherine Legge, $102,000

*–Broken down between two teams, $460,000 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, $105,500 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports