IndyCar: Chaves, Gonzalez to test for Schmidt Peterson

Leave a comment

The Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires champion, Gabby Chaves, will have his first Verizon IndyCar Series test today.

Chaves returns to Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, with whom he raced in his first season of Indy Lights in 2013. Both he and Rodolfo Gonzalez will test for SPM at the Homestead-Miami Speedway, on the track’s infield road course.

Chaves is expected to race at least the Indianapolis 500 and potentially several other events, depending on the type of budget he can put together for 2015.

Meanwhile Gonzalez is already set for his second IndyCar test, having tested with Dale Coyne Racing at Barber last week.

Rocky Moran Jr. is expected to take over one of the SPM cars on Tuesday for his first IndyCar test.

Final Rolex 24 results by class

Leave a comment

For the third time in four years, Wayne Taylor Racing is victorious in the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona.

Kamui Kobayashi drove the team’s No. 10 Cadillac for the race’s final three hours, and won by more than a minute over the No. 77 Mazda of Oliver Jarvis. Loic Duvall finished third in the No. 5 Mustang Sampling Cadillac.

Joining Kobayashi in victory lane were co-drivers, Regner van der Zande, Scott Dixon and Ryan Briscoe.

Here’s a look at some of the winners in the other classes:


The No. 81 Dragonspeed ORECA crossed the finish line first in the five-car LMP2 class, with Ben Hanley winning by two laps over the second-place Mathiasen Motorsports entry driven by Gabriel Abury. Nic Minassian finished third in the No. 18 Era Motorsport entry.

Dragonspeed’s winning team also included co-drivers Colin Braun, Harrison Newey and Henrik Hedman.


For the second consecutive year, BMW RLL took the GLTM class honors, as Jesse Krohn took the checkered flag in the team’s No. 24 BMW M8 GTE. Krohn was joined by co-drivers John Edwards, Augusto Farfus and Chaz Mostert.

Porsche Teammates Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy finished second and third, respectfully.


The Andrea Caldarelli took the class honors in the No. 48 Lamborghini Huracan GT3 of Paul Miller Racing, finishing ahead of Marco Mapelli and Mirko Bortolotti.

Caldarelli’s co-drivers included Bryan Sellers, Corey Lewis and Madison Snow.

Click here for full race results by class

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter