Finalists named for Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award


Four finalists have been named by The NASCAR Foundation for the fourth annual Betty Jane France Humanitarian Award.

Widow of former NASCAR Chairman/CEO Bill France Jr., and the mother of current NASCAR Chairman/CEO Brian France and International Speedway Corporation President Lesa France-Kennedy, Betty Jane France is Chairwoman of The NASCAR Foundation.

According to a media release announcing the four finalists, “The award is presented annually to a dedicated NASCAR fan that has made a profound impact on the lives of children in his or her local community.”

This year’s finalists are:

  • Tammy Anderson-Lee. A 13-year volunteer member of the Autism Society of San Diego, Anderson-Lee helped develop adaptive swimming programs for children with autism.
  • Amber Larkin. A resident of Windermere, Florida, Larkin founded the Noah’s Light Foundation for pediatric brain cancer after her 8-year-old son Noah passed away due to the disease.
  • Chris McElwee. A resident of Fort Washington, Pennsylvania, McElwee founded Michael’s Way, which provides financial assistance to families of children afflicted with cancer, after his brother died of leukemia.
  • Daniel Noltemeyer. The Louisville, Kentucky resident, who is afflicted with Down syndrome, helped form Best Buddies Kentucky, a society that helps individuals affected by developmental disabilities with social inclusion.

“These finalists personify what our award is all about,” France said, according to the Daytona Beach Journal. “They demonstrate commitment and compassion, putting their hearts and souls into their volunteer efforts that benefit those in need.”

The award winner – based upon who receives the most votes – will receive $100,000 for their charity, as well as a 2015 Toyota Camry for their personal use.

The other three finalists will receive $25,000 each for their charity.

The winner will be announced Friday, Dec. 5, during the Sprint Cup awards banquet in Las Vegas.

Fans can vote for one of the finalists at

For more information about the contestants, the award and the foundation, go to The NASCAR Foundation’s web site.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski