Ty Dillon earns pole position for today’s Nationwide race at Kansas

Leave a comment

Ty Dillon has won his third pole of the 2014 NASCAR Nationwide Series season – his second in the last three races – for today’s Kansas Lottery 300 at Kansas Speedway.

Early in the final round of NNS qualifying, Dillon put up a lap of 183.943 mph in the No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet that no one else was able to eclipse.

“I really wish we could’ve got that second lap in – I got a little tight behind Chris [Buescher] getting a tow – and maybe we could’ve flirted with my brother’s [Sprint Cup rookie Austin Dillon] track record,” Ty told Fox Sports.

“That kinda made me mad. But all in all, it was an awesome lap. I’m really proud of my guys. Let’s keep rolling.”

Joining him on the front row will be Ryan Blaney, back in the NNS this weekend for Team Penske. Blaney turned in a lap of 183.686 mph in the Penske No. 22, which is seeking to retain its owner’s championship in the series.

Chris Buescher and Sprint Cup regular Kevin Harvick will make up the second row. Brian Scott and last week’s NNS winner, Kyle Busch, are in Row 3, followed by Elliott Sadler and Paul Menard in Row 4 then Kyle Larson and Brendan Gaughan in Row 5.

NNS championship leader Chase Elliott will roll off 12th today as he looks to further extend his 26-point lead over teammate Regan Smith.

Unfortunately for Smith, his tough task of catching Elliott over the final five races got a little tougher today.

During the second round of qualifying, Smith lost control going through Turns 1 and 2 and hit the wall with the rear of his No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet.

The damage was enough to force JRM to roll out a backup car for Smith, who will start 24th.

Qualifying Results

1. 3-Ty Dillon
2. 22-Ryan Blaney
3. 60-Chris Buescher
4. 5-Kevin Harvick
5. 2-Brian Scott
6. 54-Kyle Busch
7. 11-Elliott Sadler
8. 33-Paul Menard
9. 42-Kyle Larson
10. 62-Brendan Gaughan
11. 6-Trevor Bayne
12. 9-Chase Elliott
13. 20-Matt Kenseth
14. 16-Ryan Reed
15. 31-Dylan Kwasniewski
16. 99-James Buescher
17. 43-Dakoda Armstrong
18. 39-Ryan Sieg
19. 01-Landon Cassill
20. 25-John Wes Townley
21. 19-Mike Bliss
22. 28-J.J. Yeley
23. 44-David Starr
24. 7-Regan Smith
25. 51-Jeremy Clements
26. 98-Corey Lajoie
27. 40-Matt Dibenedetto
28. 14-Eric McClure
29. 10-Blake Koch
30. 93-Kevin Swindell
31. 4-Jeffrey Earnhardt
32. 70-Derrike Cope
33. 74-Mike Harmon
34. 29-Milka Duno
35. 72-Carl Long
36. 55-Jamie Dick
37. 52-Joey Gase
38. 23-Timmy Hill
39. 87-Jennifer Jo Cobb
40. 90-Martin Roy

DNF: 17-Tanner Berryhill, 46-Ryan Ellis, 89-Morgan Shepherd

IndyCar teams with NASCAR on IMS road course doubleheader in 2021

IndyCar NASCAR doubleheader 2021
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The NTT IndyCar Series will be sharing Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the NASCAR Cup Series in a race weekend doubleheader for the second consecutive season, but both series will be on the road course in August 2021.

IMS announced Wednesday that IndyCar will hold an Aug. 14, 2021 race on its 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. It’ll be a day before NASCAR’s premier series runs the same layout for the first time after the Brickyard 400 was contested on the 2.5-mile oval for the first time in 27 years.

This season’s rescheduling of the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix to July 4, 2019 (a day before the Brickyard 400) led to the first NASCAR-IndyCar doubleheader weekend. The Xfinity Series also raced on the IMS road course for the first time July 4 after the IndyCar race ended.

INDYCAR AT IMS THIS WEEKEND: Harvest GP schedule, entry lists

IndyCar will be holding its second race weekend this year at the IMS road course Friday and Saturday with the Harvest GP.

“Our first NASCAR-INDYCAR weekend was a big success last July, with positive feedback from
our loyal fans who watched the races on NBC and from the drivers, teams and participants
involved,” IMS president Douglas Boles said in a statement. “The Xfinity Series’ debut on the IMS road course provided exactly the kind of thrilling action from the green to checkered flags that we anticipated, so we know the teams and drivers of the Cup Series will put on a great show as they turn left and right for the first time at IMS.

“We can’t wait to welcome back fans to see NASCAR and INDYCAR together during this
exciting weekend as we add another memorable chapter in the long, storied history of the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway.”

It also will mark the first NASCAR Cup-IndyCar doubleheader with a crowd as fans weren’t permitted at IMS in July because of the novel coronvavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Over the course of Wednesday, NASCAR is releasing its 36-race slate for next season. IndyCar has yet to release its full 2021 schedule.