Harvick leads, Stewart third, all 4 SHR cars top 7 in Charlotte first practice

Leave a comment

Kevin Harvick dropped the hammer, per usual this season, to kick off the Bank of America 500 weekend at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Harvick denied team boss and teammate Tony Stewart the chance to lead his first session since returning to the track back at Atlanta Motor Speedway the last weekend in August, at a nearly identical 1.5-mile track at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Harvick’s late flier, set within the final 10 minutes of the opening 90-minute practice session Thursday afternoon, was a 196.192 at 27.524 seconds. It was his fourth and final run of the session. Harvick has a series-leading eight pole positions in 2014.

Stewart-Haas Racing had been lined up for a 1-2-3 with Harvick ahead of Stewart and Kurt Busch, before Austin Dillon broke it up at 196.108 (27.536 seconds) to end second for Richard Childress Racing.

Stewart and Busch were 1-2, both over 194 mph, for most of the session with Stewart on top of Busch by exactly 0.001 of a second (27.704 to 27.705 seconds, respectively; 194.918 to 194.911 mph).

Stewart improved to third at 195.327, with Jeff Gordon fourth and Busch’s speed holding on for fifth.

Danica Patrick was also in the top 10 for the majority of the session, fell outside late as others ran quicker in the final stages, and then jumped back up to seventh with 194.770 set near the end of the session. Patrick posted her best career finish of sixth at Atlanta.

Besides the SHR quartet, Chevrolets were dominant overall. The “Bowtie Brigade” locked down 15 of the top 21 spots in the session.

Kyle Busch was the best Toyota in sixth, at 194.805, with Greg Biffle the top Ford in eighth at 194.679. Carl Edwards and Martin Truex Jr. completed the top 10.

Of note, Jimmie Johnson was 14th, Kasey Kahne 20th, Dale Earnhardt Jr. 21st and Brad Keselowski only 31st. These four currently sit on the outside of the top eight in points.

Qualifying occurs tonight from CMS, starting at 7:20 p.m. ET.

Juncos Racing to field single car entry in Indy 500

Christian Petersen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Part-time NTT IndyCar Series entrant Juncos Racing will announce their attempt to qualify for the 2019 Indianapolis 500 within the next few weeks, according to RACER.

The team, which made its Indy 500 debut in 2017, ran 12 of the 17 IndyCar Series races last season, but has only made a start in one of the four events so far in 2019, finishing 18th in the inaugural running of the IndyCar Classic at Circuit of the Americas with Kyle Kaiser behind the wheel.

Though no driver has yet to be announced for the single-car entry, Kaiser is expected to be the leading candidate for the ride. The 23-year-old Californian has raced for the team since 2014, where he won the 2017 Indy Lights championship.

One of the top teams in the Road to Indy ladder system, Juncos Racing has over 50 wins between Indy Lights and Indy Pro 2000 competition. The team’s most recent victory came in the second Indy Lights race at St. Petersburg this year with Rinus VeeKay behind the wheel.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter