Hamilton proud to play a part in Mercedes’ first constructors’ championship win

1 Comment

Lewis Hamilton has spoken of his pride after winning today’s Russian Grand Prix to give Mercedes its first ever Formula 1 constructors’ championship victory.

The German marque has dominated the sport in 2014, winning all but three of the races and claiming nine one-two finishes, with Hamilton and Rosberg pushing each other in the battle for the drivers’ championship.

Although this fight will rage on, the constructors’ championship was sewn up in Sochi today as Hamilton and Rosberg finished first and second, giving Mercedes an unassailable lead in the standings.

“It’s history for us, so I’m very proud to be a part of it,” Hamilton said. “Me and Nico and all the team members, to get the first constructors’ championship for Mercedes-Benz is amazing. It’s a beautiful day.”

Hamilton went unchallenged for victory, but Rosberg endured a tougher race, pitting on the first lap of the race due to a flat spot on his tire. He managed to fight his way back through the field to finish second, and Hamilton believes that this pay testament to the car they have been given in 2014.

“Obviously Nico did a great job to recover from his mistake earlier on today,” he said. “The car was performing really well, we did a great job as a team.

“I’m so happy to be here. We’ve had an amazing week. The fans and the organizers – Russia has been so good to me and to the team. I’m so grateful for all of the support. I’m really looking forward to coming here many more times.”

Hamilton’s victory also saw him draw level with Nigel Mansell for the most wins for a British driver in Formula 1, matching the 1992 world champion’s tally of 31.

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold