WATCH LIVE: Russian GP Race Day on NBCSN from 6:30am ET

1 Comment

Lewis Hamilton will be looking to tighten his stranglehold on the 2014 Formula 1 world championship today in Russia as he goes in search of a fourth straight win at the Sochi Autodrom.

The British driver currently leads teammate Nico Rosberg by 10 points at the top of the drivers’ standings, and has produced a remarkable turnaround in the last few races to give himself this advantage. Winning in Russia from pole position could prove to be the knockout blow.

However, Rosberg has not let his teammate out of his sight, and will be desperate to reel him back in today. From second place on the grid, we are set for another straight fight between the Silver Arrows in Sochi.

You can watch the Russian Grand Prix LIVE on NBCSN and Live Extra from 6:30am ET. CLICK HERE to watch via live stream.

Qualifying in Russia was a close affair, but Hamilton ultimately prevailed by two-tenths of a second over Rosberg, who simply had no answer for his rival’s pace.

However, Williams’ Valtteri Bottas very nearly upstaged them both, beating them in the first two sectors of his final hot lap. A mistake at the final corner, induced by his tires losing grid, meant that he had to settle for third place on the grid ahead of Jenson Button and home favorite Daniil Kvyat.

With a slow pit lane and low tire degradation, a one-stop race appears to be on the cards in Russia. However, Mercedes may opt for two just to be safe, creating an interesting battle of strategies at the front.

This weekend, there is only one prevailing thought: Jules Bianchi. Following his accident at the Japanese Grand Prix, the paddock is sending all of its prayers and support to the Frenchman and his family at this difficult time.

Join us for the Russian Grand Prix live on NBCSN and Live Extra from 6:30am ET. CLICK HERE to watch via live stream.

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold