Tony Gibson inks new deal to remain Danica Patrick’s crew chief


Tony Gibson announced Saturday afternoon that he will remain as Danica Patrick’s crew chief going forward into 2015 and beyond.

Gibson tweeted, “Excited to be signed, sealed and delivered for the extended future at @StewartHaasRcng!”

Gibson has shepherded Patrick’s evolution in the Sprint Cup ranks for the 2013 and 2014 seasons, as well as during a 10-race indoctrination in the 2012 season.

Gibson and Patrck have combined for the 2013 Daytona 500 pole, as well as four top-10 race finishes.


The veteran crew chief has three career Sprint Cup wins, all with Ryan Newman from 2010 through 2012, and all while with SHR.

Prior to that, Gibson has served as either a crew chief or in other roles on various levels of NASCAR racing with drivers such as Dale Earnhardt Jr., Mark Martin, Michael Waltrip and Jimmy Hensley.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski