Keselowski falls back after taking side damage in Lap 60 incident

Leave a comment

Brad Keselowski, one of several drivers that need a victory today at Talladega in order to stay alive in the Chase for the Sprint Cup, has appeared to suffer an early setback.

On Lap 60, Jamie McMurray got loose off of Turn 4 and came down into Keselowski and Michael McDowell. Joey Logano, already in the Eliminator Round with his Kansas win two weeks ago, then spun out and went into the infield grass.

While McMurray sustained enough rear-end damage to require a new housing on his No. 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, Keselowski took some side damage to his own car and stayed in pit road longer to have it fixed.

Keselowski had been running in the Top 10 at the time of the incident, but took the restart at Lap 66 in 38th place. He entered today’s race behind the Eliminator Round cutoff by 19 points.

Also sustaining some light damage in the incident were Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch, the latter of which received some tape on the front end of his No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Ford.

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter