Jeff Gordon would love to return to Saturday Night Live — and wants to bring Ricky Funck with him (video)


It’s been over a decade since Jeff Gordon hosted Saturday Night Live for the first and only time.

But with NBC Sports slated to televise more than half of next season’s Sprint Cup schedule – the first of a 10-year contract agreement – might Gordon be back to host SNL sometime soon?

(Hint, hint: Like maybe right after he wins his fifth Sprint Cup championship a little over three weeks from now, perhaps?)

Gordon, who reportedly was a finalist to replace the retiring Regis Philbin on “Live with Regis & Kelly” – the role eventually went to former NFL player Michael Strahan – a couple years ago, would gladly welcome a SNL reprise.

“It was an opportunity of a lifetime and I had a blast,” Gordon said during his weekly media availability Friday morning at Martinsville Speedway. “I was also scared to death to do it. But I’m glad that I did it.”

Gordon, who surprised us a few years ago when we learned he was a former breakdancing whiz, is all ready to do SNL again.

But he has a “request:”

“Just let me go through a Ricky Funck skit,” Gordon said of the hilarious “super cool” mustachioed and mulleted role he played in that 2003 appearance. “That was my favorite thing that I did on the show and I thought it was pretty funny.

“I would love to get the opportunity to do that again.”

Gordon is friends with SNL executive producer Lorne Michaels. If the driver of the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet answers the phone one day and it’s Michaels on the other end asking if the former would be interested in returning to SNL, there’s no doubt what Gordon’s answer will be.

“It’s one of those things where you can’t turn it down,” Gordon said. “If you’re asked, you have to do it. It’s just too much of an honor and an opportunity that you can’t say no.”

Hey, maybe a reprised Ricky Funck skit with Gordon doing a breakdancing routine?

As Ricky would say, “Awesome, dude.”

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

X44 Racing win 2022 Extreme E championship as Abt Cupra score first race victory

2022 Extreme E Uruguay
Extreme E

Abt Cupra Racing’s Nasser Al-Attiyah and Klara Andersson scored their first win in the Extreme E Energy X Prix in the 2022 finale in Uruguay as Lewis Hamilton’s X44 Vida Carbon Racing drivers Sebastien Loeb and Cristina Gutierrez survived a chaotic finale to edge the 2021 champion Rosberg X Prix team of Johan Kristoffersson and Mikhaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, by two points.

“There are so many emotions,” Andersson said in Extreme E’s coverage. “I’ve been waiting for this for so long. In my second race, first full weekend to be at the top of the podium: it’s big.”

Andersson was behind the wheel at the finish.

Rosberg Racing entered the event with a 17-point advantage over X44, but the standings were close enough that four teams remained in contention in Round 5.

“It’s a crucial weekend for us,” Loeb said in Extreme E’s coverage prior to the race. “We are not in the best position to win the championship, but the only thing we can do is try to win the race and score as many points as possible.”

The top two title contenders each crashed in qualification and were relegated to the Crazy Race, Extreme E’s version of the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ). For the moment, they had the steepest hill to climb, but then the other two championship contending teams, Chip Ganassi Racing and Acciona Sainz Racing failed to advance from their heats.

Only one team advances from the Crazy Race, so the X44 drivers were in a must-win situation to simply keep hope alive.

More: Extreme E 2023 schedule

Ahlin-Kottulinsky and Gutierrez ran wheel to wheel into the first turn at the start of the LCQ.

The Rosberg racer experienced crash damage in that turn that damaged her front steering, but managed to limp back to the pits at the end of her two-lap stint. The team attempted to fix the steering, but incurred a penalty for having too many mechanics in the pit area.

Meanwhile, Gutierrez took the early lead, but knew she would need to sit through a five-second penalty for an incident earlier in the weekend. The female half of the gender equal pair erased the penalty by entering the Switch Zone with a five-second lead before turning the car over to Loeb.

That was all the nine-time World Rally Championship titlist needed to give him the advantage needed to win the Crazy Race.

But the championship was not over yet. X44 Racing needed to finish third or better in the five-car finale to earn enough points for the title and after advancing from the LCQ, they were forced to take the worst grid position.

A chaotic start to the Finale saw Loeb run as high the lead and low as fourth after getting pushed off course during his first lap. And that is how he entered to Switch Zone.

On her first lap, Gutierrez slammed into Molly Taylor. With one lap remaining, X44 and Gutierrez were still in fourth and the title hope was quickly evaporating, but it was announced halfway through the lap that the third-running Andretti United team would suffer a penalty for a Switch Zone infraction. The seven-second deduction for Timmy Hansen braking too late in the zone made the difference in the title.

Coming off a disappointing Copper X Prix when Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour crossed under the checkers first, but were relegated to fifth by penalty, the McLaren pair scored their first podium of the season in second.