Johnny Sauter is fastest in both Truck practices at Texas

Leave a comment

Johnny Sauter may be from Wisconsin, but he was right at home during both NASCAR Camping World Truck Series practices Thursday afternoon at Texas Motor Speedway.

Sauter was fastest in the first practice (180.114 mph), followed by Timothy Peters (179.545), Jeb Burton (179.438), Brennan Newberry (179.354) and Martinsville winner Darrell Wallace Jr. (179.265).

Other notable drivers and speeds in the first practice were German Quiroga (eighth-fastest at 178.619), Truck series points leader Matt Crafton (10th, 178.424), Ryan Blaney (12th, 177.971) and Joey Coulter (18th, 173.461).

Only 25 drivers and their trucks took to the high-speed 1.5-mile track in the opening practice.

Then came the second practice, and for Sauter, a two-time winner at TMS, it was second verse, same as the first.

Sauter was just a hair faster (180.186 mph) in the second session than the first, again pacing the field – which grew to 30 trucks/drivers.

Burton was second-fastest (179.952 mph), followed by Peters (179.826), Kyle Busch (179.641), Crafton (179.223), Newberry (179.116), Cameron Hayley (179.027), Ben Kennedy (178.778), Quiroga (178.471) and Bryan Silas (178.224) as 10th-fastest.

Other notable drivers in the second session and their speeds were Wallace (11th, 178.200 mph), Ron Hornaday Jr. (13th, 177.977), Blaney (15th, 177.772) and Coulter (16th, 177.614).

There are no additional practices scheduled.

Qualifying will take place Friday afternoon at 3:15 pm ET.

The WinStar World Casino & Resort 350 Truck Series race will take place Friday at 8:30 pm ET.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

Alex Marquez wins first MotoGP #StayAtHomeGP Virtual Race

Leave a comment

Alex Marquez of Spain won the inaugural MotoGP #StayAtHomeGP Virtual Race as the world’s premier bike racing series followed other motorsports into online racing.

The #StayAtHomeGP, which was streamed Sunday on several platforms including the Motorsports on NBC YouTube channel, featured a field of 10 riders competing on their console gaming systems at home.

Francesco Bagnaia was the runner-up, and Maverick Vinales rounded out the podium.

INDYCAR iRACING: Sage Karam wins Watkins Glen opener

Defending MotoGP premier series champion Marc Marquez, the older brother of the rookie race winner and his teammate at Repsol Honda Team, finished fifth.

Here’s a recap of the race from the MotoGP site.

The premier class of MotoGP has yet to hit the track this season as its opener was canceled and the next three races were postponed, including the Grand Prix of the Americas being moved from April 5 to Nov. 15.

Several other racing series have tried online racing in recent weeks.

IMSA held a “SuperSaturday at Sebring” March 21 in place of the postponed Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of SebringNASCAR started its Pro Invitational Series last Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway and will continue Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway. IndyCar kicked off its six-race IndyCar iRacing Challenge with a Saturday race at Watkins Glen International that was won by Sage Karam.