FIA WEC: Toyota wins again in Shanghai


Toyota Racing has gone 1-2 yet again in the latest round of the FIA World Endurance Championship, at the Six Hours of Shanghai.

As they did in Fuji, the No. 8 Toyota TS040 Hybrid of Anthony Davidson and Sebastien Buemi led home the sister No. 7 entry of Kazuki Nakajima, Alexander Wurz and Stephane Sarrazin. More than a minute covered the pair of top LMP1-H entries.

“Today the whole team did a great job with the right strategy and solid pit stops; everyone kept calm and focused on getting the result. We showed we had the fastest car in Fuji and we’ve done that again here in Shanghai,” Davidson said. “We didn’t want to take too many risks, particularly in traffic so it was a relatively quiet race for me; Seb did all the spectacular work at the start. To get such a result at this stage of the season is huge for us and now we aim to continue like this in the final two races.”

Porsche made it to the podium with the No. 14 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Marc Lieb, Romain Dumas and Neel Jani in third.

Rebellion Racing (LMP1-L) and G-Drive Racing (LMP2) took the other Prototype class victories in Shanghai. Rebellion’s No. 12 Rebellion R-One Toyota (Mathias Beche, Nick Heidfeld, Nico Prost) was best of three subclass P1 cars while G-Drive’s No. 26 Ligier JS P2 Nissan of Olivier Pla, Julien Canal and Roman Rusinov captured its fourth win of the year.

Extreme Speed Motorsports made it onto the podium in LMP2 in second place, courtesy of a storming drive from Ryan Dalziel alongside Scott Sharp and Ricardo Gonzalez in the No. 30 HPD ARX-03b. It’s the last race for the team’s open-top cars before they switch to the new HPD ARX-04b coupes next season.

While Porsche took the GTE-Pro win with the No. 92 Porsche 911 RSR (Fred Makowiecki, Patrick Pilet driving), Aston Martin Racing were still the bigger winners.

The No. 98 Aston Martin Vantage of Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy and Christoffer Nygaard took the GTE-Am class win. As the sister No. 95 “Dane Train” car finished in second place (David Heinemeier Hansson, Kristian Poulsen, Richie Stanaway), it has also ensured that one of its two GTE-Am entries will take the 2014 GTE-Am Teams Trophy and one or more of its drivers will take the GTE-Am Drivers Trophy.

The WEC is back in action next at Bahrain, November 16, in two weeks’ time. The season concludes at Brazil on November 30.